The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 07:57pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,301
AP after Free Throw Lodges?

Monday, avidly observing the game before ours, I witnessed a free throw attempt in which the ball lodged between the rim and the backboard. While calculating the odds of that ever happening again (about a kazzilion to one, I figure), I noticed the ball was awarded for a throw in based on the AP arrow.

I find no mention of this situation in either the rulebook or the casebook, and I assume this procedure to resume play is correct.

Anybody know of any reason why going with is AP arrow on this is not correct in this one-in-a-million situation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 08:00pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
They were correct. Check out 6-4-3d. Also a case situation, 6.4.3 Situation B.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 08:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,774
Only On Field Goal Tries, Until ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
I witnessed a free throw attempt in which the ball lodged between the rim and the backboard. While calculating the odds of that ever happening again (about a kazzilion to one, I figure) ...
Either the free throw must have been like a line drive shot out of a cannon, or the ball must have been very much under inflated?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
And for those without casebooks handy....

Think this through on the basis of commonly known (well they should be) definitions....

Once a shooter releases for a try, no player or team control exists.; therefore, just as in a FG attempt, when the ball becomes wedged between rim and backboard the AP arrow is used.
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 08:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,774
For Coaches, And Fanboys, Without Casebooks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
They were correct. Check out 6-4-3d. Also a case situation, 6.4.3 Situation B.
6.4.3 SITUATION B: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. A1’s try lodges between the ring and the backboard. RULING: A1 is awarded two free throws and play continues as per any similar free-throw situation. Even though the ball lodged, alternating possession is not used as the ball is put in play with the free throws resulting from B1’s foul. Alternating possession would have been used to resume play in this situation if no foul had been committed.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Dec 25, 2008 at 08:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Monday, avidly observing the game before ours, I witnessed a free throw attempt in which the ball lodged between the rim and the backboard. While calculating the odds of that ever happening again (about a kazzilion to one, I figure), I noticed the ball was awarded for a throw in based on the AP arrow.

I find no mention of this situation in either the rulebook or the casebook, and I assume this procedure to resume play is correct.

Anybody know of any reason why going with is AP arrow on this is not correct in this one-in-a-million situation?
There was not supposed to be another throw, right?
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 09:32pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,301
Right, no further FT's were to follow.

It was just unheard of enough, at least to me, that it caused me to rethink it.

BTW, we used the same ball for the varsity contest. Not underinflated a bit. Just a one in a kazillion odds. I bet I'll never see it happen again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 25, 2008, 09:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,774
I Wouldn't Bet Against You ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
We used the same ball for the varsity contest. Not under inflated a bit. Just a one in a kazillion odds. I bet I'll never see it happen again.
Are you sure it wasn't a girl's ball? I have found that due to their smaller diameter, they're more likely to lodge between the rim and the backboard.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2008, 12:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by williebfree View Post
Think this through on the basis of commonly known (well they should be) definitions....

Once a shooter releases for a try, no player or team control exists.; therefore, just as in a FG attempt, when the ball becomes wedged between rim and backboard the AP arrow is used.
However, if this was on a throwin, it would be a violation on the thrower.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2008, 12:37pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
And, of course, never, I repeat, never, try to get the ball dislodged yourself.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2008, 01:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,774
Nice Job Guys ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
However, if this was on a throwin, it would be a violation on the thrower.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
And, of course, never, I repeat, never, try to get the ball dislodged yourself.
Two very good points.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2008, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
However, if this was on a throwin, it would be a violation on the thrower.
In FIBA it's a jump ball situation and the throw-in would has ended. The ball is given to the team favored by the AP arrow. So, if the original throw-in was for AP, the arrow has been switched and the ball goes to the other team.

Just to do something different.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2008, 03:35pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'll give you a one in a million shot...did a boys Varsity game this month, the inside guy put up a floater shot...it bounced on the back fringe of the rim...and just sat there. When partner blew it dead, and signaled held ball (for the AP), one of the players from the opposing team told me not to worry, he would get it down. He was only 6'2" (maybe an inch taller) and jumped straight up, and grabbed it and brought it down for me. Now all of that was one in a million!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2008, 03:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I had the defense kick an entry pass right into the basket in a jv game a few weeks ago.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 26, 2008, 04:15pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I had the defense kick an entry pass right into the basket in a jv game a few weeks ago.
The coach probably wondered if he could decline the violation, I bet.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
T During Free Throw brainbrian Basketball 8 Mon Jan 02, 2006 04:26am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Free Throw ScifiREF Basketball 7 Wed Feb 11, 2004 04:13pm
ball lodges with defensive player Roger Greene Softball 35 Fri Jan 30, 2004 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1