The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 292
NFHS rules. I wouldn't doubt if we messed this one up. Anyone confirm this?

A1 was fouled, A1 is now shooting two free throws. I give the ball to A1 for the first shot, then substitute A6 comes running onto the court. A1 shoots the ball and misses. Then we give A6 a technical.

We then take everyone off the lane and let A1 take her second free throw then let a player from team B shoot two free throws for the technical. Then we give the ball to team B at the division line opposite the table.

Anything wrong with that administration? We had to talk about it on the spot and that seemed the most logical thing to do at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,462
I don't see anything at all wrong with your administration. I believe that there are two different technical fouls which could be called here. You could go with a substitute technical directly to A6 for entering the court without being beckoned by an official or you could charge a team technical foul for six team members participating.
I would go with the first option and that seems to be what you did.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Wait so if i understand this correctly the shooter was shooting 2? so the shooter looses her second shot due to the tec, and you move right to the tec throws?
Could someone explain this too me thanxs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,462
They let her shoot it.

Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
Wait so if i understand this correctly the shooter was shooting 2? so the shooter looses her second shot due to the tec, and you move right to the tec throws?
Could someone explain this too me thanxs.
Read this again.

Quote:
Originally posted by brianbrian
"We then take everyone off the lane and let A1 take her second free throw then..."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 06:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I believe that there are two different technical fouls which could be called here. You could go with a substitute technical directly to A6 for entering the court without being beckoned by an official or you could charge a team technical foul for six team members participating.
Two technicals for the same act?

Geeze, and they call me crabby.....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 07:13pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,637
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I believe that there are two different technical fouls which could be called here. You could go with a substitute technical directly to A6 for entering the court without being beckoned by an official or you could charge a team technical foul for six team members participating.
Two technicals for the same act?

Geeze, and they call me crabby.....
JR:

I resemble that remark.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Nevadaref, sorry your right i did read it wrong. Now that I reread it, its seems to make more sense. thanks for calling that to my attention
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2006, 03:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Does it really follow under 2 Ts?

If you notice him entering on the court without being beckoned you call that T right away and then there's no following T. I don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2006, 04:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,462
I wrote "or" not "and."

I'm picking one or the other.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1