![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
5-10-1: The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer.......only when he has definite information relative to the time involved. Is an adjustment routinely made in this situation by officials? Yes Is it strictly legal? No
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I do not see a problem with running a second off the clock if you know the clock was supposed to stop. You are splitting hairs in my opinion over what definite knowledge is. Even a visible count is an estimate, you may or may not be accurate if you use that alone. Some official's counts are fast and some official's counts are slow. And I would have definite knowledge that at least a couple of seconds ran off the clock if the ball was put into play and a player dribbled a few times. More time than that might be a little more of a problem. I have no problem suggesting I have definite knowledge at that point. I do not see where in the rulebook or casebook it says how you come to that conclusion. I just know that I am not going to give a foul and not run at the very least one second off the clock in this situation. I know the clock was supposed to start. You do not have to be a rocket scientist to figure that out in my opinion. But if you do not want to be in this situation, watch the clock to start and stop no matter where you are on the court. Then you will not have to worry about if the clock started properly.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
5-10-2: ......an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction. It is a given that in the OP there is no count by the officials, and you have not described anything which sounded remotely like official information.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The rule book says it's not. I'd go with the rule book and I think that's what Nevada is trying to say.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
Quote:
This exact play was brought to the National Fed. and the interp. was to take off the time based on your best estimate. Mary Struckoff was adamant that the language in the rule specifically states that you only need definite knowledge that there was an errror. You may correct the clock if you know it was not started properly. Question: 0.7 left on the clock. Player catches inbounds pass takes 3 dribbles and shoots and scores. Clock never starts until the shot is in the air. Are you going to count it? Redo it? Or nullify the shot and walk off the floor?
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
A.R. 136. With 4 seconds remaining on the game clock, A1 makes a
throw-in to A2. The game clock does not start when the throwin is touched by A2. The ball is passed twice, a shot is taken and the rebound is deflected out of bounds by B1. Prior to placing the ball at the disposal of A1 for a throw-in, the official recognizes that there are 4 seconds on the game clock indicating that the game clock was not properly started on the previous throw-in. RULING: When an obvious timing mistake has occurred because of failure to start or stop the game clock properly, the mistake shall be corrected only when the referee has definite information relative to the time involved. The officials have definite information that the game clock did not start. The officials shall confer with each other and/or check with the official timer to determine the correct time, if any time remains, to be placed on the game clock. By rule, the decision must be made relative to the time involved. The officials are not permitted to leave 4 seconds on the game clock and repeat the initial the throw-in by A1. (Rule 5-11.1)
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
A.R. 131. With 10 seconds remaining on the game clock in the first half,
A1 makes a throw-in to A2 (game clock not started—official timer’s mistake). A2 dribbles into the front court and misses the try. B1 recovers the rebound and dribbles the full length of the playing court. As the player passes the bench, the coach of Team A notices that the game clock has not started and calls the mistake to the attention of the official timer, who starts the game clock. With one second left on the game clock in the half, A2 fouls B1. The bonus is in effect. Time expires before the official timer can stop the game clock. RULING: The referee cannot correct this official timer’s mistake unless he or she knows relatively how much time had elapsed while the game clock was stopped. The referee shall conduct a re-enactment of the sequential occurrence of the play to determine that relative time. To assist the referee, information may be attained from the official timer who should have informed the official of the mistake. When the referee determines that there is time remaining, the referee shall put the determined time on the game clock. A2 shall be assessed with a personal foul and play shall be resumed at the point where the ball was located when play was stopped to correct the timer’s mistake. In this case, B1 shall be awarded the entitled free throw(s) for A2’s personal foul and play shall be resumed from that point with the corrected time on the game clock. A correction is only permitted when it falls within the prescribed time frame limit. When it is determined that there is no time left on the game clock, the game is over and the personal foul is not assessed unless it is flagrant or intentional.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
When to Start the Clock? | Ed Hickland | Football | 17 | Wed Nov 02, 2005 03:45pm |
Should the clock start? | MisterV | Basketball | 11 | Tue Mar 15, 2005 01:28pm |
When to Start the Clock | Ed Hickland | Football | 3 | Thu Oct 21, 2004 08:52am |
Do you start the clock? | Bubba10Dara | Football | 3 | Thu Oct 16, 2003 11:47am |
Clock does not start QUESTION | Cornellref | Basketball | 2 | Fri Mar 29, 2002 11:08am |