![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
So I'm bemused by the constant confusion over when to go to the AP. The AP is the last resort for POI. Yet so often I hear people wanting to make it the first choice.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think the problem is when dealing with doubles the first question that is asked is whether or not there was team control. If there isn't, they automatically want to resort to the AP. Then again, maybe not. But that's the only thing I can come up with. |
|
|||
|
So when does 6-4-3g apply? It says that when double personal, double technical, or simultaneous fouls occur, and AP throw-in is used when there is no team control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved. I'm just asking for clarification.
Also, in what situation would you use the AP for a double foul if this situation doesn't meet that criteria? |
|
|||
|
You really have to read it in light of 4-36, which gives a much more complete view of POI.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
"What would've happened if the whistle had not blown?"
Scrapper1 posted this a few weeks ago. I haven't had time to go through all the various permutations, but I think it works:
If the double foul happens: a) during a free throw or throwin, you resume with the free throw or throwin; b) after a foul or violation, then you resume by administering the penalty for the foul or violation; c) while the ball's in play and there's team control, then you simply give a throwin to the team in control; d) when there is no team control, and there's no way to know who would have gotten the ball, then, and only then, you go to the possession arrow. It's actually really simple. Just ask yourself, "What would've happened if the whistle had not blown?" If you answer that you don't know, then go to the possession arrow. Otherwise, just do what you were going to do next anyway.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1) A1 releases the ball for a try. Player/Team control has ended. A2 and B2 are called for a Double Foul and the basket is not made. No team control was ever reestablished, thus AP Throw-in. 2) A1 releases the ball on a throw-in. The ball is touched (no Control) by a player. Throw-in has ended. The ball is loose. A2 and B2 scramble for the ball and they are whistled for a Double Foul. No team control was ever reestablished, thus AP Throw-in. |
|
|||
|
This is exactly the reason nfhs should change the rule to match the college level ruling where there is team control when OOB. This would clear up so much of the confusion. This play is messed up all of the time because of the confusion! We just talked about it on sunday in our meeting and it was told that "no team control on the throw in, if you have a double foul during it, go to the arrow!" So now we will have to go back and touch on that play again!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Changing one the most basic definitions of the game is a bad idea. We shouldn't be messing with our basic definitions and the "Basketball Fundamentals" because of one play that happens once a season. Quote:
|
|
|||
|
How can you call this one of the fundamentals of basketball and a basic definition of the game if the college level considers it part of the game?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
MUST NOT BE TO BAD OF A CHANGE IF THE NCAA THOUGHT IT WAS A GOOD IDEA! [/QUOTE]This is exactly the reason your board needs a new interpreter. [/QUOTE]I surely wouldn't argue with that one! New Assignor this year, going to be fun!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! Last edited by jritchie; Tue Oct 21, 2008 at 11:43am. |
|
|||
|
Domino Effect ???
Quote:
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; this not a backcourt violation. Team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established. During a throwin, any player may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. This is not a backcourt violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As Billy posted above, I think that the POI rule is actually very easy to administer once you know the definition. You just have to remember that there are 3 parts to the definition. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double Foul During Free Throw | cropduster | Basketball | 63 | Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am |
| Double Violation on free throw | Largent | Basketball | 11 | Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:08pm |
| Double foul on throw-in clarification | blindzebra | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm |
| Double base / errant throw redux | Dakota | Softball | 3 | Tue Aug 06, 2002 09:40pm |
| Free Throw/Double Violation? | OK Ref | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 28, 2002 06:33am |