The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
in this case, he did not kick it ---- it accidentally bounced off his leg.

just because he loses control is not a violation ----- it is only a violation if he crosses the plane of the FT line or violates the 10 sec rule.

i agree that this case needs more information to make the proper ruling
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmettoref View Post
in this case, he did not kick it ---- it accidentally bounced off his leg.
Same thing here. Whether his foot was moving at contact is not relevant.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmettoref View Post
in this case, he did not kick it ---- it accidentally bounced off his leg
Absolutely correct- poor choice of words by me...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 07:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
My two (2) cents.

I read the casebook play (9.1.1b) and the referenced rules (R9-S1-A3a & e). I understand what the Rules Committee is trying to achieve but R9-S1-A3a & e is not the correct rule to apply. R9-S1-A3e DOES NOT apply to CP9.1.1b because A1 did not enter the free throw lane. R9-S1-A3a DOES apply because his free throw attempt did not touch the ring before free throw ended.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 04:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
MTD,
When did the FT end?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 06:39am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
I'll Give It A Shot ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
MTD,
When did the FT end?
When the "try" touches the floor ???
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 06:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
When the "try" touches the floor ???
A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 07:02am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
MTD,
When did the FT end?
I'll try:
After the 10 second count?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 07:20am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
My two (2) cents, Part II.

Based upon the wording of the rule and the casebook play, it is my opinion that the free throw try ended when the ball hit the floor. The casebook play does not mention a ten (10) second violation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Based upon the wording of the rule and the casebook play, it is my opinion that the free throw try ended when the ball hit the floor. The casebook play does not mention a ten (10) second violation.

MTD, Sr.
I agree that this is what they are trying to accomplish. I also think it's the "right" ruling. I'm just not sure it's (fully / clearly) supported by the current rules.

My guess is that the rules committee means that the "throw" in 9-1-3A is the ONLY legal way for A1 to lose player control -- any other way is a violation. The rule doesn't say that, though.

Suppose A1 passed the ball to A2 (on the lane) who passed it back. A1 then attempts the FT (all within 10 seconds; no one leaves a space). Has A1 (or anyone on A) violated?

(There's a similar argument going on in one of the baseball threads -- if the rules says a player "shall" do something, does that mean that the player can "ONLY" do that.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Based upon the wording of the rule and the casebook play, it is my opinion that the free throw try ended when the ball hit the floor. The casebook play does not mention a ten (10) second violation.

MTD, Sr.
During the dribble which was to preceed the try?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Does this seem a little "out there" to anybody else? A kid gets fouled, maybe even hammered on a shot, he goes to the line, maybe he's a little rattled, perhaps he's a little bit injured, he fumbles the ball during the only situation in the entire game that's designed to be an uncontested, take your time kinda deal, and suddenly now it's "Sorry, Charlie."?

And there are so many questions left completely unanswered. What if the kid can reach the ball without violating? What if the ball bounces away but into the semi circle instead of the lane? What if the player places the ball on the floor in the lane in front of him as part of his habitual ritual? I play with a guy who does that, sets it on the floor, stretches out his bad back, picks it up and takes his throw. What about another player picking it up and passing back to him?

Based on the cited rules, it seems the violation is based on the seeming inevitability of violating either the lane or the 10 count. Neither of which is a given. So does this only come into play when the fumble is such that one of those would HAVE to be violated?

This just seems like a bad change to me.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2008, 06:26am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
Inquiring Minds Want To Know ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
And there are so many questions left completely unanswered.
You're right. The case book seems clear. It's a violation. The question is, according to the rules, why? When the coach, athletic director, local sportswriter, or local cable television announcer asks why the player was denied a free throw, will we only be able to cite a casebook situation, rather than a rule?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2008, 11:30am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Based on the cited rules, it seems the violation is based on the seeming inevitability of violating either the lane or the 10 count. Neither of which is a given. So does this only come into play when the fumble is such that one of those would HAVE to be violated?
Agreed, and it doesn't allow for the possibility of requesting a TO to keep the shot. A possibility specifically allowed for in the resumption of play.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2008, 07:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Agreed, and it doesn't allow for the possibility of requesting a TO to keep the shot. A possibility specifically allowed for in the resumption of play.
That's not really a concern here because the ball isn't at the disposal of the free thrower as in the case of RPP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In case you haven't seen this... IDref Soccer 10 Sat Jul 21, 2007 02:30pm
Part 1 and Part 2 NFHS tests WindyCityBlue Baseball 28 Mon Nov 22, 2004 02:49pm
Case 6.3.2 rwest Basketball 8 Thu Oct 28, 2004 04:04pm
Case Play, Part II ejstuart Soccer 6 Mon May 03, 2004 08:48pm
ASA case oppool Softball 6 Wed Feb 14, 2001 11:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1