The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
case 9.1.1 part B

Hey guys. I have been reading the case book and came across this particular case and don't really understand what makes this a violation. Last year if this were to happen, it is my understanding that if a player were to lose control of the ball after it bounces off himself, we would blow it dead and readminister the FT. However according to this case, it is a violation. Why? What makes this a violation. The rules reference that the NFHS uses are the 10 sec rule for the ball to touch the rim and the FTer breaking the plane of the FT line. But neither of these actions are stated in the case. Can anybody help me make sense of this case and it's ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
answer

I believe that those are the rules stated because if a player loses the ball before shooting one of those could be the result. PLayer loses the ball it would take longer than ten seconds, and if they got to get the ball they cross the plane. I agree that they should just put in the rule that once the foul shooter has control of the ball that it is on them to not lose control of the ball.
Bottom line is it is now a violation if they lose control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 135
The case book cites to R 9:1-3 (a) and (e), neither of which, to me, specifically relates to what happened in the case play. On the other hand, it seems easy enough to remember that once the thrower has the ball at his disposal, if he loses it and it rolls away- it's a violation.

The rule seems to leave room for our discretion. To me, if there is any doubt at all that the player mishandles my pass for the free throw, I'm giving it back to him. But to hold it, dribble it 2/3 times and then kick it off his foot, he is out of luck....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
in this case, he did not kick it ---- it accidentally bounced off his leg.

just because he loses control is not a violation ----- it is only a violation if he crosses the plane of the FT line or violates the 10 sec rule.

i agree that this case needs more information to make the proper ruling
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmettoref View Post
in this case, he did not kick it ---- it accidentally bounced off his leg.
Same thing here. Whether his foot was moving at contact is not relevant.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmettoref View Post
in this case, he did not kick it ---- it accidentally bounced off his leg
Absolutely correct- poor choice of words by me...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 07:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
My two (2) cents.

I read the casebook play (9.1.1b) and the referenced rules (R9-S1-A3a & e). I understand what the Rules Committee is trying to achieve but R9-S1-A3a & e is not the correct rule to apply. R9-S1-A3e DOES NOT apply to CP9.1.1b because A1 did not enter the free throw lane. R9-S1-A3a DOES apply because his free throw attempt did not touch the ring before free throw ended.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 04:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
MTD,
When did the FT end?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Does this seem a little "out there" to anybody else? A kid gets fouled, maybe even hammered on a shot, he goes to the line, maybe he's a little rattled, perhaps he's a little bit injured, he fumbles the ball during the only situation in the entire game that's designed to be an uncontested, take your time kinda deal, and suddenly now it's "Sorry, Charlie."?

And there are so many questions left completely unanswered. What if the kid can reach the ball without violating? What if the ball bounces away but into the semi circle instead of the lane? What if the player places the ball on the floor in the lane in front of him as part of his habitual ritual? I play with a guy who does that, sets it on the floor, stretches out his bad back, picks it up and takes his throw. What about another player picking it up and passing back to him?

Based on the cited rules, it seems the violation is based on the seeming inevitability of violating either the lane or the 10 count. Neither of which is a given. So does this only come into play when the fumble is such that one of those would HAVE to be violated?

This just seems like a bad change to me.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 01:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeedonk View Post
The case book cites to R 9:1-3 (a) and (e), neither of which, to me, specifically relates to what happened in the case play. On the other hand, it seems easy enough to remember that once the thrower has the ball at his disposal, if he loses it and it rolls away- it's a violation.

Could the player, his coach, or a teammate call time-out while the ball is rolling away?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
he could not call a TO because he is not in player control or the ball is not at his disposal
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
Old News ...

From Scrapper1 back on October 1:

9.1.1 has been changed this year. They added a situation where the free thrower loses the ball while doing his habitual dribbling before attempting the try. This year they're telling us this is a violation. If he muffs the pass from the official, reset and administer it again. But once he gets it, if he's just clumsy, it's a violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
Could Someone Please Just Toss That Ball Back To Me ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by palmettoref View Post
he could not call a TO because he is not in player control or the ball is not at his disposal
Good call. They have team control, but, as you stated, no player control (dribbling, or holding), or ball at disposal, nor is there a dead ball, the ball became live when it was put at the free thrower's disposal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Next question, and I'll probably answer it myself in a few seconds; what prevents A2 from picking it up if it rolls to him and passing it back to A1?

Okay, checked the relevant rules, and there's nothing I could find which prevents a teammate (or opponent) from passing the loose ball back to the shooter as long as he shoots within 10 seconds of first receiving the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Wed Oct 08, 2008 at 06:56pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In case you haven't seen this... IDref Soccer 10 Sat Jul 21, 2007 02:30pm
Part 1 and Part 2 NFHS tests WindyCityBlue Baseball 28 Mon Nov 22, 2004 02:49pm
Case 6.3.2 rwest Basketball 8 Thu Oct 28, 2004 04:04pm
Case Play, Part II ejstuart Soccer 6 Mon May 03, 2004 08:48pm
ASA case oppool Softball 6 Wed Feb 14, 2001 11:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1