![]() |
|
|
|||
Another of the new casebook plays
Case 3.3.5 Situation B. Without typing the whole thing out, the free throw shooter's shirt is untucked. He's instructed to tuck it in, he shoots the free throws with no one on the lane, and is required to leave the game after the final free throw. The ruling says that Team B is awarded the ball for the ensuing throw-in, regardless of whether the final free throw is successful.
Does this seem right? Seems to me that if the final free throw misses, we should go to the arrow. Anybody see a rationale for automatically giving the ball to B? |
|
|||
It's marked with a * to indicate that it's new. And it's not in last year's casebook. Maybe it was an NFHS mid-season interp?
And is there some rationale for not going to the arrow after a missed final free throw? |
|
|||
It has a new number, but it is not new to the Case Book. It was there last year, the year before, the year before.....
Wanna bet? ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue Sep 30, 2008 at 06:36pm. |
|
|||
No way, no bet. But where was it last year? And what is the rationale blah blah blah?
|
|
|||
3.4.15 SITUATION C:
B1 fouls A1. Just before A1 goes to the line for a one-and-one, the official observes: (a) A1 either pulls the shirt out of his/her pants; or (b) that A1's pants are partially below the hips. RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 will be directed to put the shirt in the pants or pull up the pants and must leave the game immediately following his/her last free throw(s). The lane is cleared and it will be B's ball for a throw-in, whether or not the last free throw is successful. The case play doesn't include the rationale. My guess is they're tired of kids not tucking in their jerseys. They don't want to send him out, since he's due his FTs but they aren't willing to penalize the defense. If A has the arrow, you penalize B by giving the ball to A because A1 broke a rule. I have no problem with it. Actually did it about 9 years ago. That's how I know it's there. ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue Sep 30, 2008 at 08:10pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Scrapper1: It is an old interpretation that was made when the rule was first adopted. I can't remember how many years ago that was. Just because the interpretation is currently not in the Casebook does not mean the interpretation ceases to exist or be valid. Tony and I both remember the interpretation because we are both old geezers (at least I am an old geezer) who have been officiating and students of the rules for years and years and years. Show Tony some R E S P E C T (Find out what it means to me, ![]() MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
We're The Fashion Police, You Have The Right To Remain Silent ...
Quote:
I also recall a heated discussion regarding this interpretation at our Refresher Exam study group.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
1st year confusion about plays in Casebook | cdoug | Football | 3 | Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:16pm |
Casebook ? | Chess Ref | Softball | 4 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 06:09pm |
NFHS Lodged ball - casebook plays | Carl Childress | Baseball | 27 | Thu Dec 23, 2004 03:19pm |
NF Casebook 6.5.4 sit | dumbref | Football | 9 | Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:27am |
ASA Casebook | greymule | Softball | 1 | Fri Apr 26, 2002 09:50pm |