The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another of the new casebook plays (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49178-another-new-casebook-plays.html)

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 30, 2008 05:54pm

Another of the new casebook plays
 
Case 3.3.5 Situation B. Without typing the whole thing out, the free throw shooter's shirt is untucked. He's instructed to tuck it in, he shoots the free throws with no one on the lane, and is required to leave the game after the final free throw. The ruling says that Team B is awarded the ball for the ensuing throw-in, regardless of whether the final free throw is successful.

Does this seem right? Seems to me that if the final free throw misses, we should go to the arrow. Anybody see a rationale for automatically giving the ball to B?

BktBallRef Tue Sep 30, 2008 06:13pm

That's not new. Been in there a long time.

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 30, 2008 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 540342)
That's not new. Been in there a long time.

It's marked with a * to indicate that it's new. And it's not in last year's casebook. Maybe it was an NFHS mid-season interp?

And is there some rationale for not going to the arrow after a missed final free throw?

BktBallRef Tue Sep 30, 2008 06:34pm

It has a new number, but it is not new to the Case Book. It was there last year, the year before, the year before.....

Wanna bet? :)

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 30, 2008 07:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 540350)
It has a new number, but it is not new to the Case Book. It was there last year, the year before, the year before.....

Wanna bet? :)

No way, no bet. But where was it last year? And what is the rationale blah blah blah?

BktBallRef Tue Sep 30, 2008 07:25pm

3.4.15 SITUATION C:
B1 fouls A1. Just before A1 goes to the line for a one-and-one, the official observes: (a) A1 either pulls the shirt out of his/her pants; or (b) that A1's pants are partially below the hips.

RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 will be directed to put the shirt in the pants or pull up the pants and must leave the game immediately following his/her last free throw(s). The lane is cleared and it will be B's ball for a throw-in, whether or not the last free throw is successful.

The case play doesn't include the rationale. My guess is they're tired of kids not tucking in their jerseys. They don't want to send him out, since he's due his FTs but they aren't willing to penalize the defense. If A has the arrow, you penalize B by giving the ball to A because A1 broke a rule.

I have no problem with it. Actually did it about 9 years ago. That's how I know it's there. :)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 30, 2008 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540358)
No way, no bet. But where was it last year? And what is the rationale blah blah blah?


Scrapper1:

It is an old interpretation that was made when the rule was first adopted. I can't remember how many years ago that was. Just because the interpretation is currently not in the Casebook does not mean the interpretation ceases to exist or be valid. Tony and I both remember the interpretation because we are both old geezers (at least I am an old geezer) who have been officiating and students of the rules for years and years and years. Show Tony some R E S P E C T (Find out what it means to me, :D).

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Tue Sep 30, 2008 09:52pm

The IAABO Refresher Exam Is Harder Than The MCAT'S ...
 
I think that this play was on the IAABO Refresher Exam last year. I'll check and get back to you guys.

BktBallRef Tue Sep 30, 2008 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540373)
Just because the interpretation is currently not in the Casebook...

It is in the Case Book and has been for years.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 540380)
It is in the Case Book and has been for years.


My point is that sometimes plays are removed from the Casebook but that doesn't mean that they still aren't in force.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Wed Oct 01, 2008 08:06am

Yes, I know. But you also wrote, "Just because the interpretation is currently not in the Casebook ..." My point is that it is in the Case Book. :)

All_Heart Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:31am

What if the free throw shooter says he won't tuck his shirt in before shooting the free throws?

Technical Foul and then if he won't comply when asked a second time a 2nd technical and the coach then needs to provide a sub to shoot the free throws. We can't just send the player to the bench and allow a better shooter to come in and attempt the free throws just because he won't tuck his shirt in.

Thoughts?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart (Post 540452)
What if the free throw shooter says he won't tuck his shirt in before shooting the free throws?

Technical Foul and then if he won't comply when asked a second time a 2nd technical and the coach then needs to provide a sub to shoot the free throws. We can't just send the player to the bench and allow a better shooter to come in and attempt the free throws just because he won't tuck his shirt in.

Thoughts?


All Heart:

There is not need for a TF in this situation. The player is leaving the game because his shirt is untucked. That is the penalty. A TF is not the penalty in this situation.

MTD, Sr.

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540475)
There is not need for a TF in this situation. The player is leaving the game because his shirt is untucked. That is the penalty. A TF is not the penalty in this situation.

While I'm pretty sure I agree, Mark, the difference is that the rules require him to shoot his own free throws, since he's not injured.

The case specifically states that he is to tuck in the shirt, attempt the free throws, and then leave the game. If he refuses to follow the official's directive, he can't shoot his own free throws. Maybe a delay of game?

All_Heart Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540475)
All Heart:

There is not need for a TF in this situation. The player is leaving the game because his shirt is untucked. That is the penalty. A TF is not the penalty in this situation.

MTD, Sr.

A1 is fouled with 1 second left in the 4th quarter. They are down 1 and A1 is to shoot 2 free throws. A1 (who's FT% is 50%) then untucks his jersey and walks up to the free throw line.

Are you allowing A1 to shoot the free throws with his shirt untucked if he refuses to tuck it in? If you are saying let him shoot the free throws with his shirt untucked and then send him out of the game after his 2nd with Team B receiving the ball OOB then I am fine with that.

My understanding is that the player is not allowed to shoot the free throws with his shirt untucked so what are our options if he refuses (being defiant or trying to get a teammate to shoot the free throws for him).

I know it is very unlikely that a player or coach is trying to get around this rule (because they probably don't know it), I'm just doing a "what if".

I've had a kid in a state playoff game act hurt at the end of the game so that a teammate could shoot the free throws for him. We made sure that wasn't going to happen! :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1