The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member

Question Visible Count Mechanics

Looking for some opinions/guidance on showing the 10-second count (I am relatively new to basketball officiating). When I first started, I counted all 10 seconds with individual arm movements - and did the same on my 5-second inbounds count. Then had a supervisor tell me that it looks stupid with my arm moving back and forth that fast and to switch to an out (1 second) and in (1 second) motion.

I've tried doing that but it feels strange - especially on the 5-second. Yet when I go back to my old method and try not to move fast, I find my 10-second count is closer to 12-13.

Any tips? And do you always start a 10-second visible count when the ball is in backcourt, or do you keep it in your head unless there is defensive pressure or you get to 6 or 7 and the ball hasn't crossed yet?

Thanks!
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 01:27pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

1. Your supervisor's an idiot.

2. When in Rome, give to Caesar....

Last edited by Adam; Tue Aug 12, 2008 at 01:30pm.
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 01:31pm
Courageous When Prudent

Your supervisor said to do what?!!!? I don't think my brain and arms could coordinate such a count.

You are a new official so need to learn how to do everything properly. Visible count in the back court, most definitely. And it's 1-second per arm extension. You'll learn that coaches are paying attention to such things.
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz