The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
rules ?

saw this question (which tripped me up) on the IAABO website.....

Team A is charged with a technical foul for an excessive time-out. During this stopped clock interval of time, B-1 is replaced by B-6. B-1 then returns to the game and attempts the two free throws which are: (a) both successful; (b) both unsuccessful; or (c) one is successful and one is not. What is the ruling in each of the three situations? (Fed rules)

Last edited by mdray; Tue Jun 17, 2008 at 12:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray
saw this question on the IAABO website.....

Team A is charged with a technical foul for an excessive time-out. During this stopped clock interval of time, B-1 is replaced by B-6. B-1 then returns to the game and attempts the two free throws which are: (a) both successful; (b) both unsuccessful; or (c) one is successful and one is not. What is the ruling in each of the three situations? (Fed rules)
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but in 8-3, it states that "the free throws awarded because of a T foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:41pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but in 8-3, it states that "the free throws awarded because of a T foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower.
True, but can B1 return before the clock starts again?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:49pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but in 8-3, it states that "the free throws awarded because of a T foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower.
B1 would not be an eligible substitute until time has come off the clock.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
So getting back to the OP, what is the correct ruling of the FTs attempted by B1?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
Case book - page 17 - 3.3.3. Illegal entry
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
3.3.3. Situation B: Team B is charged with a T foul for an excess timeout. During this stopped-clock interval, A1 is replaced by A6. A1 then returns to the game and attempts the two FT which are : (a) both successful; (b) both unsuccessful; or (c) one is successful and one is not. RULING: Once A1 reentered, even illegally, and the ball became live, A1 was a legal player at that point. The resulting action in (a), (b), and (c) stands. The situation does not come under the provisions of the correctable-error rule, nor is there any provision for penalizing either Team A or A1. (3-3-4, 8-3)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:55pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwanr1
So getting back to the OP, what is the correct ruling of the FTs attempted by B1?
It's not a correctable error situation. Progress normally with the game. File it under "Official Screw-up".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 12:57pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwanr1
So getting back to the OP, what is the correct ruling of the FTs attempted by B1?
11-1-1 (a) Don't f*$# it up to begin with...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1