The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   rules ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/45570-rules.html)

mdray Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:24pm

rules ?
 
saw this question (which tripped me up) on the IAABO website.....

Team A is charged with a technical foul for an excessive time-out. During this stopped clock interval of time, B-1 is replaced by B-6. B-1 then returns to the game and attempts the two free throws which are: (a) both successful; (b) both unsuccessful; or (c) one is successful and one is not. What is the ruling in each of the three situations? (Fed rules)

Mwanr1 Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdray
saw this question on the IAABO website.....

Team A is charged with a technical foul for an excessive time-out. During this stopped clock interval of time, B-1 is replaced by B-6. B-1 then returns to the game and attempts the two free throws which are: (a) both successful; (b) both unsuccessful; or (c) one is successful and one is not. What is the ruling in each of the three situations? (Fed rules)

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but in 8-3, it states that "the free throws awarded because of a T foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower.

Ch1town Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but in 8-3, it states that "the free throws awarded because of a T foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower.

True, but can B1 return before the clock starts again?

Raymond Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but in 8-3, it states that "the free throws awarded because of a T foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower.

B1 would not be an eligible substitute until time has come off the clock.

Mwanr1 Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:51pm

So getting back to the OP, what is the correct ruling of the FTs attempted by B1?

Mwanr1 Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:53pm

Case book - page 17 - 3.3.3. Illegal entry

Raymond Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
So getting back to the OP, what is the correct ruling of the FTs attempted by B1?

It's not a correctable error situation. Progress normally with the game. File it under "Official Screw-up".

Mwanr1 Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:56pm

3.3.3. Situation B: Team B is charged with a T foul for an excess timeout. During this stopped-clock interval, A1 is replaced by A6. A1 then returns to the game and attempts the two FT which are : (a) both successful; (b) both unsuccessful; or (c) one is successful and one is not. RULING: Once A1 reentered, even illegally, and the ball became live, A1 was a legal player at that point. The resulting action in (a), (b), and (c) stands. The situation does not come under the provisions of the correctable-error rule, nor is there any provision for penalizing either Team A or A1. (3-3-4, 8-3)

Ch1town Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
So getting back to the OP, what is the correct ruling of the FTs attempted by B1?

11-1-1 (a) Don't f*$# it up to begin with...

Raymond Tue Jun 17, 2008 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
3.3.3. Situation B: Team B is charged with a T foul for an excess timeout. During this stopped-clock interval, A1 is replaced by A6. A1 then returns to the game and attempts the two FT which are : (a) both successful; (b) both unsuccessful; or (c) one is successful and one is not. RULING: Once A1 reentered, even illegally, and the ball became live, A1 was a legal player at that point. The resulting action in (a), (b), and (c) stands. The situation does not come under the provisions of the correctable-error rule, nor is there any provision for penalizing either Team A or A1. (3-3-4, 8-3)

Do I get an IAABO patch now? :cool:

Ch1town Tue Jun 17, 2008 01:08pm

Anybody can get one:
http://www.honigs.com/detail.asp?Cat...=144&Item=1035
:D

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Jun 17, 2008 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town


No, anyone cannot get one. If your name does not show up on the IAABO roster, Honig's will not sell one to you or any officiating shirt with an IAABO patch on it.

MTD, Sr.

Ch1town Tue Jun 17, 2008 04:43pm

Really? I thought they were ordering those shirts. I guess it's true then... having a patch only means one can pass a written test :(

Actually seeing an official work before passing those things out should be a requirement.

Tio Tue Jun 17, 2008 04:54pm

B1 does not become an eligible sub until time has been run off the clock. Cannot sub during the same dead ball period.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 17, 2008 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Really? I thought they were ordering those shirts. I guess it's true then... having a patch only means one can pass a written test :(

Actually seeing an official work before passing those things out should be a requirement.

That's all that a lot of association patches mean. Each officials association, whether it's state, regional or local, sets their own membership criteria. Actually being competent isn't always necessarily one of those criteria, especially when an area is short of bodies.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1