![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
Quote:
Imo it's a waste of time discussing a play that, to the best of my knowledge, has always been called only one way. Personally, I could care less what the non-believers think. Let 'em play the cunning linguist games. Hey, I really do hope that they do have the courage of their convictions and will not call a violation the next time that a player touches the ball again before it touches the floor after it left his hand on a dribble. That's fine with me. And ....... if somebody honestly thinks that an interrupted dribble can occur when the ball never got away from the dribbler and the dribbler also IMMEDIATELY continued to dribble without missing a beat, hey,that's fine with me too. Shrug. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
What you suggest and claim may indeed be true...but the rules don't back you up without a lot of assumption and reading between the lines.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri May 30, 2008 at 11:10am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Learning can never be a waste of time, well maybe except for the person teaching ![]() I was really hoping you would address this part of my post - Facts: There was a deflection before the second touch because the ball struck the defenders body. Judgment: Official 1: The ball momentarily got away & took a lucky bounce plus the player had long arms regaining control... interupted dribble?? Official 2: The defender made a great attemp to steal the around the back dribble so the dribbler intentionally kicked back at the ball to avoid getting ripped... kick?? Official 3: The ball was touched by the hand twice before striking the floor... violation?? The spaces were left on purpose for you to address... |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri May 30, 2008 at 11:42am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Again, it may be the intent and standard to not allow two touches...but the book does NOT back that up.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
(1) Violation, because the ball is touched twice during a dribble, before the ball touches the playing court. Which is the exact same verbiage used in the NFHS case book. (I'm sure Jurassic said the same thing earlier in this thread). The reason it is a violation is stated clearly.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri May 30, 2008 at 12:08pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I think the second part of your post should be directed to a different poster, I fully concur with 2 touches prior to the ball striking the floor = violation (upward or downward). What happens in between the second touching is judgement IMO. My only issue is who's to say whether or not the ball striking the dribblers foot was an interupted dribble? Did it not strike the dribblers foot? After striking the foot did it not get away but favorably come back? It would be GREAT if they made a case play for this particular situation ie: During a dribble when the ball strikes the foot of the dribbler & returns to the players hands before striking the floor this should be ruled "a violation" OR "an interupted dribble" |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The context being referred to is one where the ball is batted up (and, in this case, over an oppenents head). You can't simply ignore the context an apply the conclusion generally. If it was meant to apply generally, they wouldn't have created a context with an exception type of play. I'm sure you can find several rulings in the case book that, when taken out of context, lead to some interesting results. As for the rule, why the clause "into the air" if what you suggest is true. If it were meant to be generally true, it would be worded something like: During a dribble, the ball may only touch or be touched by the hand(s) once between bounces. But, it doesn't say that.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri May 30, 2008 at 01:56pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Camp?
Quote:
__________________
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Little background. Back in the 80's iirc, the FED put in an absolutely stoopid case book play. The ruling was that if a player lost control of his dribble, he wasn't allowed to go get the ball and dribble again if the ball wasn't touched by another player in between. That was true even if the player didn't end his original dribble while getting the loose ball. If he did dribble after getting the loose ball, it was an illegal second dribble. That lasted one year and they yanked it and replaced it with the wording that we use now. They also issued a second case book play that has disappeared over time. In both of the case plays, they defined an "interrupted dribble" as a player not being able to immediately dribble because the ball got away from them. Afaik, that's still how the play should be adjudicated. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double dribble? | Jeff the Ref | Basketball | 1 | Tue Nov 16, 2004 08:34am |
Double dribble? | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 5 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:26pm |
Double Dribble | BigJoe | Basketball | 7 | Fri Mar 22, 2002 02:44pm |
double Dribble or not???? | co2ice | Basketball | 3 | Thu Feb 01, 2001 02:08pm |
Double dribble? | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 9 | Wed Jan 17, 2001 02:45pm |