![]() |
|
|||
10-6-2: "A player shall not contact an opponent with his/her hand....."
Unlike other articles in 10-6, there is no mention of hindering the opponent's freedom of movement. Therefore, we may infer that this is not necessary for the contact to be a foul. One interpretation I have heard, (not sure where) is that the defender not be allowed the contact with the hand, no matter how slight, because this contact allows the defender to "measure" his opponent. In other words, the defender uses his sense of touch to aid his sense of sight in anticipating the movement of the offensive player. Bottom line: You have your hand on the dribbler, you get called for a foul, you want to argue the call. You don't have a leg to stand on.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Your ruling? | mcrowder | Softball | 30 | Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:06am |
Ruling Please | eventnyc | Football | 12 | Tue Dec 05, 2006 09:01am |
Official Gear - ASA Official Pants | Dakota | Softball | 10 | Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:20am |
help with ruling | joelevmas | Baseball | 4 | Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:11pm |
High School Official vs NCAA /College Official | CLAY | Basketball | 22 | Sat Feb 22, 2003 11:29pm |