The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
A few situations....

First of all, I want to thanks all of you who post on this site. I get time about every month to check out all the posts and I never regret all the time I spend reading the threads. I am always learning tons of new information. I wish I had more time to view the threads.

Well here are a couple situations I’ve come across in the past few weeks and can’t seem to cite in the rule and/or case books. NFHS rules apply! Additionally, the scorer’s table is at the baseline (which is odd but there isn’t enough room to safely put it in the middle of the court.) It’ll come into play in the first situation.

Situation 1:
I had a false double technical foul the other night. Both teams were playing pretty physical down in the post area but it had been clean all game. A few fouls had been called but nothing out of the ordinary.

In the 2nd half, Team A had the ball on the opposite-side wing (I was L). A1 posted B1 up on the block. B1 had gotten the best of the matchup all night as he was more athletic and seemed to be a lot more comfortable in the post, both offensively and defensively. The ball is passed from the wing to the top of the key just as I see A1 throw an elbow into the body of B1 out of frustration. TWEET!

My first reaction was to give Player A a flagrant foul but I didn't think it was malicious (intent to injury). I felt it was necessary to call an unsportsmanlike technical foul, however, because there was the use of unnecessary force. I didn’t have to move since the scorer’s table was on that end of the court. I report the foul with the two still in front of me. A1 then says something incoherent to me and B1 gives a little push to A1. TWEET! I honored B1 with a little attention as well, an unsportsmanlike technical.

Is the correct ruling to have each team shoot 2 free throws (Team B followed by Team A) then follow it with an alternating possession arrow? Or should Team A get possession as Team B offended last?


Situation 2:

Earlier in the week I was working with an inexperienced official. We had been calling a pretty good game. I was giving him pointers here and there about positioning and situations I have encountered in my 5 years.

In the second half, A1 get the in the lane and lobs a shot up over B1. Realizing that his shot is going to hit nothing but air, A1 slips around B1 and catches the errant shot. Of course, everyone in gym starts yelling “Travel!!!!”, including Team B. B1 then blocks A1’s put back out of bounds on the baseline. I then turn to wave in the subs as I hear my P tell Team B that it’s not a travel. “It’s a new rule that a player can catch their own shot.”

I talked with him after the game and told him it’s not necessary to explain rules, especially things you’re uncertain of. To my knowledge, that rule has always been around in the past decade but I could be wrong. I’ve only been officiating since 2001.

Can anyone help me cite there situations? Thanks!

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 09:40pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara

Situation 1:
I had a false double technical foul the other night. Both teams were playing pretty physical down in the post area but it had been clean all game. A few fouls had been called but nothing out of the ordinary.

In the 2nd half, Team A had the ball on the opposite-side wing (I was L). A1 posted B1 up on the block. B1 had gotten the best of the matchup all night as he was more athletic and seemed to be a lot more comfortable in the post, both offensively and defensively. The ball is passed from the wing to the top of the key just as I see A1 throw an elbow into the body of B1 out of frustration. TWEET!

My first reaction was to give Player A a flagrant foul but I didn't think it was malicious (intent to injury). I felt it was necessary to call an unsportsmanlike technical foul, however, because there was the use of unnecessary force. I didnít have to move since the scorerís table was on that end of the court. I report the foul with the two still in front of me. A1 then says something incoherent to me and B1 gives a little push to A1. TWEET! I honored B1 with a little attention as well, an unsportsmanlike technical.

Is the correct ruling to have each team shoot 2 free throws (Team B followed by Team A) then follow it with an alternating possession arrow? Or should Team A get possession as Team B offended last?

The first foul is a personal, not a technical. It could be either intentional or flagrant, but it is a personal since it involves live ball contact. Technical on B1. If A1's foul is not ruled intentional or flagrant, it is simply a team control foul, so no free throws. Let any player for A shoot 2 for the T on B1, then have A inbound at division line.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 09:53pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara
First of all, I want to thanks all of you who post on this site. I get time about every month to check out all the posts and I never regret all the time I spend reading the threads. I am always learning tons of new information. I wish I had more time to view the threads.

Well here are a couple situations Iíve come across in the past few weeks and canít seem to cite in the rule and/or case books. NFHS rules apply! Additionally, the scorerís table is at the baseline (which is odd but there isnít enough room to safely put it in the middle of the court.) Itíll come into play in the first situation.

Situation 1:
I had a false double technical foul the other night. Both teams were playing pretty physical down in the post area but it had been clean all game. A few fouls had been called but nothing out of the ordinary.

In the 2nd half, Team A had the ball on the opposite-side wing (I was L). A1 posted B1 up on the block. B1 had gotten the best of the matchup all night as he was more athletic and seemed to be a lot more comfortable in the post, both offensively and defensively. The ball is passed from the wing to the top of the key just as I see A1 throw an elbow into the body of B1 out of frustration. TWEET!

My first reaction was to give Player A a flagrant foul but I didn't think it was malicious (intent to injury). I felt it was necessary to call an unsportsmanlike technical foul, however, because there was the use of unnecessary force. I didnít have to move since the scorerís table was on that end of the court. I report the foul with the two still in front of me. A1 then says something incoherent to me and B1 gives a little push to A1. TWEET! I honored B1 with a little attention as well, an unsportsmanlike technical.

Is the correct ruling to have each team shoot 2 free throws (Team B followed by Team A) then follow it with an alternating possession arrow? Or should Team A get possession as Team B offended last?


Situation 2:

Earlier in the week I was working with an inexperienced official. We had been calling a pretty good game. I was giving him pointers here and there about positioning and situations I have encountered in my 5 years.

In the second half, A1 get the in the lane and lobs a shot up over B1. Realizing that his shot is going to hit nothing but air, A1 slips around B1 and catches the errant shot. Of course, everyone in gym starts yelling ďTravel!!!!Ē, including Team B. B1 then blocks A1ís put back out of bounds on the baseline. I then turn to wave in the subs as I hear my P tell Team B that itís not a travel. ďItís a new rule that a player can catch their own shot.Ē

I talked with him after the game and told him itís not necessary to explain rules, especially things youíre uncertain of. To my knowledge, that rule has always been around in the past decade but I could be wrong. Iíve only been officiating since 2001.

Can anyone help me cite there situations? Thanks!

-Josh
Situation 1:
Did you say that you issued a technical foul for live-ball contact? My understanding is that live-ball contact cannot be a technical foul.

Situation 2:
As long as I have been officiating, you can "catch your own shot" if the official believes that you attempt. I would mention to the new official that he was wrong about it being a new rule. Beginning officials usually have these types of growing pains, though.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Ok...if I called it an intentional foul (instead of an unsportsmanlike foul) would that affect Team A's possession at the end of the FT's?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 10:03pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
In the order they occur. Therefore, the technical on B1 would give A the ball at the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Darn...I guess I did get it wrong...Well it's a learning experience
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 10:39pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
So if you called it intentional, B1 would have got two shots. Then the technical on B1 would have given Team A two shots and then the ball at the division line.

If A1's foul is not ruled intentional or flagrant, see JAR's post (#2).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub situations wisref2 Basketball 8 Sat Dec 15, 2007 04:18pm
2 different situations bigdog Softball 5 Tue May 03, 2005 11:50am
I need help for 2 situations Rev.Ref63 Basketball 6 Wed Feb 16, 2005 03:45pm
Help on two situations missinglink Basketball 4 Mon Jan 17, 2005 08:41am
2 situations schmitty1973 Football 2 Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:39am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1