The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
I have an assignment for our study club. Several situations, two that follow I am not really sure of:

A. A2 dribbles into the frontcourt and comes to a stop. Unable to find an open teammate, A2 throws the ball off the nearest official, who is (a) out of bounds or (b) inbounds. A2 recovers the ball inbounds before any other player touches it and resumes his dribble. Are those actions legal?
My answer, no in both cases:
(a) OOB off A2, throw-in to Team B. 7-2.
(b) Violation, illegal dribble. 9-5.
Are these rulings correct? Does A2's intent constitute unsporting acts?

B. A4 and B5 are in the center circle for the opening tap. After the referee tosses the ball and after the ball has reached its highest point, A4 jumps and tips the ball and then tips the ball again with two hands simultaneously. What is the correct call in this situation?
My answer: Legal, but only because I couldn't find it spelled out as not legal. If I saw this move I would have to question "control" by the two hand tap which could be close to illegal catching. (6-3-7c)

__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
I agree with your answers for #1

In #2, a simulataneous touching counts as 1 touch. (6.4.7)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 11:16pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by missinglink
I have an assignment for our study club. Several situations, two that follow I am not really sure of:

A. A2 dribbles into the frontcourt and comes to a stop. Unable to find an open teammate, A2 throws the ball off the nearest official, who is (a) out of bounds or (b) inbounds. A2 recovers the ball inbounds before any other player touches it and resumes his dribble. Are those actions legal?
My answer, no in both cases:
(a) OOB off A2, throw-in to Team B. 7-2.
(b) Violation, illegal dribble. 9-5.
Are these rulings correct? Does A2's intent constitute unsporting acts?


I agree with (a) and (b). If A2's adjudged intent is to injure the official, intent may come into play. If A2's adjudged intent is to get another dribble, then it's just st pid.


B. A4 and B5 are in the center circle for the opening tap. After the referee tosses the ball and after the ball has reached its highest point, A4 jumps and tips the ball and then tips the ball again with two hands simultaneously. What is the correct call in this situation?
My answer: Legal, but only because I couldn't find it spelled out as not legal. If I saw this move I would have to question "control" by the two hand tap which could be close to illegal catching. (6-3-7c)


Player only touched the ball twice, although the second touch was with both hands, but simultaneously implies only one touch --> no violation 6.3.7(a).
There is no player control without the player holding or dribbling the live ball in-bounds

mick
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by missinglink
I have an assignment for our study club. Several situations, two that follow I am not really sure of:

A. A2 dribbles into the frontcourt and comes to a stop. Unable to find an open teammate, A2 throws the ball off the nearest official, who is (a) out of bounds or (b) inbounds. A2 recovers the ball inbounds before any other player touches it and resumes his dribble. Are those actions legal?
My answer, no in both cases:
(a) OOB off A2, throw-in to Team B. 7-2.
(b) Violation, illegal dribble. 9-5.
Are these rulings correct? Does A2's intent constitute unsporting acts?


I agree with (a) and (b). If A2's adjudged intent is to injure the official, intent may come into play. If A2's adjudged intent is to get another dribble, then it's just st pid.


B. A4 and B5 are in the center circle for the opening tap. After the referee tosses the ball and after the ball has reached its highest point, A4 jumps and tips the ball and then tips the ball again with two hands simultaneously. What is the correct call in this situation?
My answer: Legal, but only because I couldn't find it spelled out as not legal. If I saw this move I would have to question "control" by the two hand tap which could be close to illegal catching. (6-3-7c)


Player only touched the ball twice, although the second touch was with both hands, but simultaneously implies only one touch --> no violation 6.3.7(a).
There is no player control without the player holding or dribbling the live ball in-bounds

mick
Thanks Mick and BBref
__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
Smile

I'm probably not going to be to happy with a kid who decides I'm involved with his game of dodge-ball and he forgot to tell me in advance. Not sure how I can penalize unless he hits me above the knees. If I'm OOB, his team loses possession and he gets "the look".
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1