![]() |
|
|
|||
4 players on the court after a timeout
Was watching a middle school girls game where one team came out of a timeout with only 4 players on the floor and play began. When the mistake was relized, the 5th player sprang from the bench and entered the game.
Simply for my own understanding so that I am clear - the 5th player first must report to the scorer's table and wait for a dead ball to enter or else it is a T against the coach. Correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Happened to me this year, it was an underclass game our assignor needed help on and my partner who is up the food chain on me, thought I was wrong. He still hasn't admitted I was correct in my ruling ![]() |
|
|||
10-1-9 States that we have a team technical foul whether the 5th player reports to the table or not.
A team shall not: ART. 9 . . . Fail to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. PENALTY: (Section 1) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in. |
|
|||
Vinski Knows His Rules ....
Quote:
|
|
|||
I think you guys are making a good point about 10-1-9, but I think we're missing the SPIRIT of the rule here. IMO, the rule was made in order to prevent a coach from not sending all of his players onto the court at the same time after a TO or intermission to instruct his/her players, thus gaining an advantage. The coach/player that FORGETS to return to the floor is not gaining an advantage. HOWEVER, if that player just runs onto the court without proper substitution protocol...it should be a T. Just my $.02.
|
|
|||
There is a case play that covers this
addresses this it is 10.3.3 Situation B
After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both Team A and B, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing that he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though Team A only has four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes that they only have 4 players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up with the play. RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5's return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court. |
|
|||
Quote:
Looks like I did it wrong and my rating should fall....
__________________
in OS I trust |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
6 Players on Court | actuary77 | Basketball | 10 | Mon Dec 03, 2007 09:22pm |
players/bench personnel during timeout | boiseball | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:55pm |
Six Players on the Court | David M | Basketball | 18 | Tue Jan 11, 2005 02:01pm |
6 Players on the Court | SamIAm | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 17, 2004 02:13pm |
6 players on the court - what would you do? | theboys | Basketball | 55 | Fri Dec 06, 2002 05:21am |