The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Not precisely right, but close enough as the administration is correct.
Strictly speaking in this case the POI is the awarding of the first of the two FTs that are due to A1's substitute because of the personal foul by B1.

Since a team is entitled to a FT, per 4-36-2b the game is picked up from there and then the rest of the fouls are penalized in order. As the final foul to be penalized is the intentional technical foul (for the dead ball contact) by B1, Team A will be awarded a throw-in at the division line following those FTs.
The problem I see with this is order of enforcement. 8-7 tells us, without exception, that "Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred."

So the administration of the fighting T's does not occur until after that for the personal foul and the first technical. There are rules that tell us we must replace the DQ'd players before proceeding with the first free throw. But that does not constitute administering the penalty for the double T.

4-36-2b is the proper POI option for this situation.

b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.

But when considered in concert with 8-7, that leaves the concluding phrase of 4-36-2b as the simplest possibility. At this point the only activity remaining is the throw-in due to the first technical, and team A "is entitled to such."

I think that makes more sense that saying that the POI was (emphasis on the past-tenseness of this argument) a few free throws ago. I can think of no other situation in which we would deem the POI to be a time that occurred previously in the game.

In the end, you are right that the end result is the same.

I've got to run and can't immediately think of any other cases that would be useful in thinking about this. If you've got one, I'd like to hear it.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
I've got to run and can't immediately think of any other cases that would be useful in thinking about this. If you've got one, I'd like to hear it.
A1 is fouled and A is in the double bonus. After the play, A2 and B2 fight. Proper administration?

A2 and B2 are charged with flagrant technicals and disqualified. Then the game proceeds with A1 shooting the double bonus with players on the lane.

If we waited until after the fouls were administered in order to apply POI, we'd clear the lane and then have a POI after the 2nd free throw.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
A1 is fouled and A is in the double bonus. After the play, A2 and B2 fight. Proper administration?

A2 and B2 are charged with flagrant technicals and disqualified. Then the game proceeds with A1 shooting the double bonus with players on the lane.

If we waited until after the fouls were administered in order to apply POI, we'd clear the lane and then have a POI after the 2nd free throw.
If you read 4-36-2 the way I've been reading it, there is no resolution for POI in this situation. They would need to add in something about playing on after a made or missed free throw, or something like that to cover this situation.

However, setting that aside for the moment, I don't agree that you'd shoot the free throws with the lane cleared. Whether or not to clear the lane (NFHS 8-1-3) is always a forward looking decision, based on whether the ball will be dead after shooting the free throws. There is nothing in the penalty for a double technical that makes the ball dead. Logically, if not exactly by rule, the POI would be to carry on from the end of the free throws.

I can see the disconnect in the rules over this. What changes would fix this?
  • Nevada suggested ammending 8-7 to except double fouls and double technicals.
  • I would prefer adding a fourth provision to 4-36-2 that says something like: For double personal or double technical fouls, when there are other personal and/or technical fouls involved, enforce all other penalties, in the order the fouls occurred, as if the double personal/technical had not occurred.
  • Perhaps 8-6 would need a little tweaking as well?
Any others?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
The problem I see with this is order of enforcement. 8-7 tells us, without exception, that "Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred."
You hit upon a good point. One which the Fed has yet to realize. When they changed the penalty for double/simultaneous fouls and added the POI definition back in 2005-06, they failed to also alter 8-7.
8-7 needs to be amended to contain, "except for double and simultaneous fouls."

The fact is that in order to properly enforce the POI rule, we must ignore 8-7 in these situations. Post #12 by jdw demonstrates why.

PS rainmaker, yes, I am talking about NFHS rules. The real POI is how we make the ball live again.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Dec 29, 2007 at 09:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
PS rainmaker, yes, I am talking about NFHS rules. The real POI is how we make the ball live again.
So why wouldn't the POI be the inbound at the midcourt line for the T against B? I don't understand why you said the admin was right but the reason was wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 09:48pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
So why wouldn't the POI be the inbound at the midcourt line for the T against B?
Because the game was interrupted before the free throws were attempted. So the point of "interruption" is before the free throws. So when we resume at the POI, we resume with the free throws for the original foul.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Because the game was interrupted before the free throws were attempted. So the point of "interruption" is before the free throws. So when we resume at the POI, we resume with the free throws for the original foul.
Okay, so the discrepancy is that POI conflicts with administering the fouls in order?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Okay, so the discrepancy is that POI conflicts with administering the fouls in order?
Precisely.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Precisely.
Well, I can solve that one easily. Just "adjust" the definition of POI include the administration being part of the order of things right behind the foul. So in the OP, we've got 2 fts for A1's sub, 2 fts for any A player, and then oob at divison line for team A since the POI for the double foul was the fts for the T. At least, that's how I'll tell it to the coach who asks nicely.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1