The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia Area, PA
Posts: 79
6 men on the court

If a team has 6 men on the court and they score a basket, does the basket count? I don't have my rule book, but I think this a corrrectable error (incorrectly awarding points)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by psujaye
If a team has 6 men on the court and they score a basket, does the basket count? I don't have my rule book, but I think this a corrrectable error (incorrectly awarding points)?
The ball becomes dead when an official recognizes and penalizes the infraction. All points scored until then stand. This is not a correctable error.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 09:23am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by psujaye
If a team has 6 men on the court and they score a basket, does the basket count? I don't have my rule book, but I think this a corrrectable error (incorrectly awarding points)?
It's not correctable. A live ball (which was not a throw-in) passed through the basket from above, therefore the points will stand.

You assess the technical foul and move on. (Expect a phone call from your assignor later. . .)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 375
Agree, not correctable. T and put the ball back into play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
Agree, not correctable. T and put the ball back into play.
Making sure to count the players this time
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 10:48am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by psujaye
If a team has 6 men on the court and they score a basket, does the basket count? I don't have my rule book, but I think this a corrrectable error (incorrectly awarding points)?
Team A is losing the game and wishes to employ the strategy of scoring quickly while causing the clock to stop when B has the ball.

Instead of yelling fire and "going for the ball", which always takes time off the clock, and often much more than A would like, they do this:

So... B has the ball in their FC and an extra A player sneaks on the court. Team A gets the defensive rebound and a quick outlet pass followed by a pass to the cherry picker 6th player for an easy two (perhaps 3). After the basket, the officials notice that A has 6 on the court. A T is issued. Now A is going to get the ball again no matter what, so a division-line throw-in for B is not a loss of possession to A. If B is really bad at free throws, then it may be worthwhile for A to "purposely" have 6 on the court as a trade for a guaranteed 2 points against the bet that A will miss their foul shots, with the benefit of the clock stopping quicker.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
If B is really bad at free throws, then it may be worthwhile for A to "purposely" have 6 on the court as a trade for a guaranteed 2 points against the bet that A will miss their foul shots, with the benefit of the clock stopping quicker.
The only way it's guaranteed is if the officials fail to notice that the 6th player entered.

I'd also argue that in addition to a technical foul for 6 players on the court, if you know the coach emloyed this strategy intentionally, a direct flagrant technical foul on the coach may be in order.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Team A is losing the game and wishes to employ the strategy of scoring quickly while causing the clock to stop when B has the ball.

Instead of yelling fire and "going for the ball", which always takes time off the clock, and often much more than A would like, they do this:

So... B has the ball in their FC and an extra A player sneaks on the court. Team A gets the defensive rebound and a quick outlet pass followed by a pass to the cherry picker 6th player for an easy two (perhaps 3). After the basket, the officials notice that A has 6 on the court. A T is issued. Now B is going to get the ball again no matter what, so a division-line throw-in for B is not a loss of possession to A. If B is really bad at free throws, then it may be worthwhile for A to "purposely" have 6 on the court as a trade for a guaranteed 2 points against the bet that B will miss their foul shots, with the benefit of the clock stopping quicker.
It makes more sense this way.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Team A is losing the game and wishes to employ the strategy of scoring quickly while causing the clock to stop when B has the ball.

Instead of yelling fire and "going for the ball", which always takes time off the clock, and often much more than A would like, they do this:

So... B has the ball in their FC and an extra A player sneaks on the court. Team A gets the defensive rebound and a quick outlet pass followed by a pass to the cherry picker 6th player for an easy two (perhaps 3). After the basket, the officials notice that A has 6 on the court. A T is issued. Now A is going to get the ball again no matter what, so a division-line throw-in for B is not a loss of possession to A. If B is really bad at free throws, then it may be worthwhile for A to "purposely" have 6 on the court as a trade for a guaranteed 2 points against the bet that A will miss their foul shots, with the benefit of the clock stopping quicker.
...and that sort of tactic is where a "travesty" ruling stats becoming a possibility.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 01:18pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Making sure to count the players this time
During your pregame, you should practice counting more than 10 players on the court without having to take your shoes off.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
During your pregame, you should practice counting more than 10 players on the court without having to take your shoes off.
I can get to 11 without removing my shoes, but it creates a bit of a stir
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
I can get to 11 without removing my shoes, but it creates a bit of a stir
Meeting Padgett on his own terms?? get a chat room...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia Area, PA
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Making sure to count the players this time
T is charged to whom? directly/indirectly to head coach or directly to the 6th player?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
...and that sort of tactic is where a "travesty" ruling stats becoming a possibility.
Yeah at a minimum it is buh-bye to the HC at this point b/c you aren't convincing me that it wasn't an intentional act based on JR's description...if that is worth the possibility of A making both FT's anyways and it being a wash then try it...it will only happen once, b/c the next time you are right we are in "travesty" territory....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by psujaye
T is charged to whom? directly/indirectly to head coach or directly to the 6th player?
Rule 10-1 Art 6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 many on court. Jayzer Basketball 5 Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:43pm
Back Court? bandit7199 Basketball 3 Mon Nov 08, 2004 05:05am
Back court Steve_pa Basketball 4 Mon Feb 24, 2003 06:48pm
6 men on court TGR Basketball 4 Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:40am
Referee is a part of the court/court? RecRef Basketball 6 Thu Jan 17, 2002 12:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1