The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Endline Running...

After made basket by A1, B1 takes ball out and after 4 seconds of trying to make the inbounds pass against the press requests TO...it's granted.

We come back after the TO, they can still run the endline...

On the throw in, the ball is thrown toward B2 where it is touched by both B2 and A2 and batted back out of bounds by A2 who was the last to touch it.

B is still allowed to run the endline or no because they touched the ball on the playing floor and since A knocked it out, it's now a spot throw in?

I though I remember reading a case play awhile back where I thought it indicated running of the endlined ceases but I don't recall all the specifics....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 164
The way I'm reading it, that's an out of bounds violation by A2, B gets a spot throw in nearest where the ball went out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
After made basket by A1, B1 takes ball out and after 4 seconds of trying to make the inbounds pass against the press requests TO...it's granted.

We come back after the TO, they can still run the endline...

On the throw in, the ball is thrown toward B2 where it is touched by both B2 and A2 and batted back out of bounds by A2 who was the last to touch it.

B is still allowed to run the endline or no because they touched the ball on the playing floor and since A knocked it out, it's now a spot throw in?

I though I remember reading a case play awhile back where I thought it indicated running of the endlined ceases but I don't recall all the specifics....
They are running the endline in your first situation.
The ball is oob off A2 in your second, B's ball
B's throw in is a spot throw in, although whomever it went off doesn't matter. Once the ball was touched legally inbounds you have a spot throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
After made basket by A1, B1 takes ball out and after 4 seconds of trying to make the inbounds pass against the press requests TO...it's granted.

We come back after the TO, they can still run the endline...

On the throw in, the ball is thrown toward B2 where it is touched by both B2 and A2 and batted back out of bounds by A2 who was the last to touch it.

B is still allowed to run the endline or no because they touched the ball on the playing floor and since A knocked it out, it's now a spot throw in?

I though I remember reading a case play awhile back where I thought it indicated running of the endlined ceases but I don't recall all the specifics....
B cannot run the end line. 7-2-2 - The ball is caused to go out of bounds by the last player in bounds to touch it or be touched by it (this would be your A2). Then 7-5-3 Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in nearest to where the ball became dead (this would be where A2 knocked it out of bounds, not the end line). The result is a spot throw-in, not an end line run.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
They are running the endline in your first situation.
The ball is oob off A2 in your second, B's ball
B's throw in is a spot throw in, although whomever it went off doesn't matter. Once the ball was touched legally inbounds you have a spot throw in.
Thank you sir...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
After made basket by A1, B1 takes ball out and after 4 seconds of trying to make the inbounds pass against the press requests TO...it's granted.

We come back after the TO, they can still run the endline...

On the throw in, the ball is thrown toward B2 where it is touched by both B2 and A2 and batted back out of bounds by A2 who was the last to touch it.

B is still allowed to run the endline or no because they touched the ball on the playing floor and since A knocked it out, it's now a spot throw in?

I though I remember reading a case play awhile back where I thought it indicated running of the endlined ceases but I don't recall all the specifics....
B can't run the end line.

5-7b A team retains this privilege if the scoring teams commits a violation before the throw-in ends

4-42-5 The throw-in ends when the ball touches or is legally touched by another player
__________________
Los Angeles Ca
"You can fool some of the people all of the time, all the people some of the time, but not all the people all of the time." - Abraham Lincoln
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running the endline ctpfive Basketball 4 Fri Feb 03, 2006 03:31pm
Running The Endline ? Chess Ref Basketball 3 Mon Nov 28, 2005 09:24am
Running the endline after a time out ref18 Basketball 8 Mon Dec 27, 2004 09:26am
running the endline todd66 Basketball 27 Tue Dec 21, 2004 11:16pm
Running the Endline TheREF Basketball 6 Thu Feb 17, 2000 05:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1