The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 12:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamKip
Here is a question to all. Let see how many of you can get this one correct. I was surprised by the answers. Where does B1 bring the ball in at?

...snip...

Iamkip
Don't you just love this people who come on here with last year's info and think that they know something that we don't.

Here's a hint, kip. You're WRONG.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 06:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Thanks to all

To all, even the sarcastic ones.. .. I am with you now. I did not realize those changes had been made and I am looking at the new book now... Thanks to all I very much appreciate your help. I have another question and will start a thread on it now that I have the new book.. Thanks again

IamKip
__________________
IamKIP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
I'm surprised you all missed this one. 3 and 4, flagrant technical fouls.
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 05:19pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
You're looking at last year's rule book.
There is no 9-2-12 this year. And 9-2-11 says a teammate of the thrower may not "be" out of bounds. If you don't catch this violation until the ball is caught by A2, you call the 9-3-2 violation and give the ball to B1 roughly where A2 was standing when he caught the ball.
I remember that discussion from last year -- Is this different from NCAA then/now? For instance, (NCAA):

Thrower-in, A1, has the ball for a throw-in on the end line. A1 passes the ball to A3 who is standing on the sideline near midcourt when she receives the pass. The officials shall:
A. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the end line.
B. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the sideline near midcourt.
C. Call a back court violation and put the ball in play on the end line.
D. Call a violation on A1 for failing to complete the throw-in and put the ball in play on the end line. (9-5-1b)
E. None of the above.

My answer, for now, is bolded.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Tue Oct 23, 2007 at 05:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 05:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
that was correct for NFHS last year. I have no idea about NCAA.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 07:29pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Thrower-in, A1, has the ball for a throw-in on the end line. A1 passes the ball to A3 who is standing on the sideline near midcourt when she receives the pass. The officials shall:

B. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the sideline near midcourt.
NCAA and NFHS now are the same. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball directly onto the playing court so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds. If the first person to touch the throw-in pass is out of bounds, then that person has committed the violation and the ball is put in play at the spot of the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 07:51pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
NCAA and NFHS now are the same. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball directly onto the playing court so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds. If the first person to touch the throw-in pass is out of bounds, then that person has committed the violation and the ball is put in play at the spot of the violation.
Thanks Scrapper. That's what I figured, but I can't find the reference (similar to the NFHS version) that spells that out. Can you point it out to me?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Thanks Scrapper. That's what I figured, but I can't find the reference (similar to the NFHS version) that spells that out. Can you point it out to me?
9-5.1.b indicates that this throw-in is a legal throw-in, so it's an OOB violation, not a thhrow-in violation
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Designated spot throw-in? johnnyrao Basketball 2 Tue Nov 14, 2006 01:32pm
Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 PConley Basketball 2 Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm
Designated Throw-in spot. Jerry Blum Basketball 6 Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:37am
Designated spot throw ins Art N Basketball 14 Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am
Designated Spot Throw-in Fox40 Basketball 4 Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1