The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Location of designated spot throw in for B1? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39017-location-designated-spot-throw-b1.html)

IamKip Sun Oct 21, 2007 05:33pm

Location of designated spot throw in for B1?
 
Here is a question to all. Let see how many of you can get this one correct. I was surprised by the answers. Where does B1 bring the ball in at?

1.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds mid court untouched:
2.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and is caught by A2 who has both feet out of bound:
3.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and hits referee who has both feet out of bounds:
4.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and hits referee who has one foot in bounds and one foot out of bounds:
5.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and hits A2 who has one foot in bounds and one foot out of bounds:

Iamkip :D

Adam Sun Oct 21, 2007 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IamKip
Here is a question to all. Let see how many of you can get this one correct. I was surprised by the answers. Where does B1 bring the ball in at?

1.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds mid court untouched:
2.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and is caught by A2 who has both feet out of bound:
3.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and hits referee who has both feet out of bounds:
4.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and hits referee who has one foot in bounds and one foot out of bounds:
5.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds and hits A2 who has one foot in bounds and one foot out of bounds:

1, 3, and 4 go back to the point where the throwin was released.
2 and 5 will be at the spot where A2 touched the ball.

Which ones surprised you?

IamKip Sun Oct 21, 2007 05:43pm

Close...
 
Why do you say #2 & #5 are spot where A2 touched the ball? Do you have a rule/case reference?

Iamkip :D

Adam Sun Oct 21, 2007 05:54pm

Rule 9, Section 3, Article 2.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rule
No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.

Penalty:
Quote:

The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated spot out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation
Do you disagree?

BktBallRef Sun Oct 21, 2007 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IamKip
Why do you say #2 & #5 are spot where A2 touched the ball? Do you have a rule/case reference?

Iamkip :D

You might want to make sure you have this year's rule book.

bob jenkins Sun Oct 21, 2007 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
You might want to make sure you have this year's rule book.

And this year's interps -- especially number 3.

rainmaker Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:06pm

My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?

IamKip Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:16pm

#2 incorrect
 
Per rule 9-2-11 & 9-2-12, throw in violation and ball is put back in play at original spot with throw in by B1. .. Not on the midcourt sideline...

The other by rule are correct

Iamkip :D

IamKip Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:16pm

In some cases it is the best place to be.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?

so if hit the ball is out of bounds...

JoeTheRef Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?

If this is 3-man, the Center official may be helping on the press.

Adam Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IamKip
Per rule 9-2-11 & 9-2-12, throw in violation and ball is put back in play at original spot with throw in by B1. .. Not on the midcourt sideline...

The other by rule are correct

Iamkip :D

You're looking at last year's rule book.
There is no 9-2-12 this year. And 9-2-11 says a teammate of the thrower may not "be" out of bounds. If you don't catch this violation until the ball is caught by A2, you call the 9-3-2 violation and give the ball to B1 roughly where A2 was standing when he caught the ball.

Adam Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
If this is 3-man, the Center official may be helping on the press.

Yup, or it could be the administering official. :)

But, I only know a couple of refs who couldn't move out of the way of a pass from the other side of the court.

Snake~eyes Sun Oct 21, 2007 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?

You stand on the court as the lead?

BktBallRef Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:12pm

SInce you missed it the first time, I'll post it again.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IamKip
Per rule 9-2-11 & 9-2-12, throw in violation and ball is put back in play at original spot with throw in by B1. .. Not on the midcourt sideline...

You might want to make sure you have this year's rule book.

rainmaker Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
You stand on the court as the lead?

Hhmmm, good point. I was figuring that lead wasn't ref, since it was an endline throw-in.

And I was thinking 2-person, not 3, so I like the answer about C. I just don't think in terms of C.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1