The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
case 10.5.1 Sit C

The coach of Team A leaves the bench area and goes to the table to seek information other than a correctable error: (a) during a time-out: or (b) during the intermission between the first and second quarters. RULING: A technical foul is charged directly to the coach in both (a) and (b).
The final sentence in this paragraph trys to explain the reasoning behind this, but can anyone honestly tell me why a coach cannot inquire for this info during these instances, but anyone else can? Does / Would any of you enforce the tech if you saw the coach at the scorer's table during these instances?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
That's easy. Coaches are restricted to the bench area and the coaching box, even during timeouts. The rule is clear that they can only go to the table for a possible correctable error. The coach can send a statistician to find out anything he needs to know for any other reason.

Yes, I would.

Nothing good can come from the coach going to the scorer's table.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 11:29am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Nothing good can come from the coach going to the scorer's table.
Amen, brother.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
That's easy. Coaches are restricted to the bench area and the coaching box, even during timeouts. The rule is clear that they can only go to the table for a possible correctable error. The coach can send a statistician to find out anything he needs to know for any other reason.

Yes, I would.

Nothing good can come from the coach going to the scorer's table.
Hum, sounds like the voice of experience Yes I agree it is the rule. Based on your last sentence, I will gather that is more the reason for the rule rather than what the rule book offers to explain this one. As I read thru the rule books this one stuck out in my head as one that didnt add anything to the game.... perhaps it is more inclined to what it can allow to take away. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 01:42pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Nothing good can come from the coach going to the scorer's table.
And that's exactly why the FED implemented the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 08:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
FYI the NCAA rule is a bit different.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
FYI the NCAA rule is a bit different.
Okay you tweeked my interest. Let me see if I can google the rule.....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Okay you tweeked my interest. Let me see if I can google the rule.....
tweaked or piqued. Just saying...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2007, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
FYI the NCAA rule is a bit different.
If I found the correct rule, the coach IS allowed to approach the scores table during a TO or Intermission in NCAA... Rule 10 section 11 art. 3a
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 01:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
If I found the correct rule, the coach IS allowed to approach the scores table during a TO or Intermission in NCAA... Rule 10 section 11 art. 3a
Yep, and really I don't see why the NFHS doesn't allow that. Time-outs and intermissions are breaks that a coach gets to instruct his team, if he wants to waste that time by being over at the table obtaining information isn't that his loss?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
That's easy. Coaches are restricted to the bench area and the coaching box, even during timeouts. The rule is clear that they can only go to the table for a possible correctable error. The coach can send a statistician to find out anything he needs to know for any other reason.

Yes, I would.

Nothing good can come from the coach going to the scorer's table.
would finding out how many fouls a player has count as non-correctable-error information seeking that could be trouble? What about a road team with limited staff (i.e. just one coach, no statistician, no assistants). I don't think its a black and white issue of coach at scorers table = bad. but for the most part, i do agree that coaches shouldn't loiter at the scorers table and that most coaches that do end up there are up to no good, so keeping them away as much as possible (with some common sense discretion) is best.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 06:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y2Koach
would finding out how many fouls a player has count as non-correctable-error information seeking that could be trouble? What about a road team with limited staff (i.e. just one coach, no statistician, no assistants). I don't think its a black and white issue of coach at scorers table = bad. but for the most part, i do agree that coaches shouldn't loiter at the scorers table and that most coaches that do end up there are up to no good, so keeping them away as much as possible (with some common sense discretion) is best.
I agree with some common sense discretion a coach can get the information they seek without going to the table. i.e. from the coaching box he or she can communicate with the table. How many fouls does # 10 have or ask the player themselves. If a team travels with limitations then the coach should be aware of his or her limitiation as well. JMO.

Why should the officials have to compensate for shortcomings?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y2Koach
would finding out how many fouls a player has count as non-correctable-error information seeking that could be trouble?
That's not a correctable error.

Quote:
What about a road team with limited staff (i.e. just one coach, no statistician, no assistants). I don't think its a black and white issue of coach at scorers table = bad. but for the most part, i do agree that coaches shouldn't loiter at the scorers table and that most coaches that do end up there are up to no good, so keeping them away as much as possible (with some common sense discretion) is best.
Then you tell an official and allow him to address it.

The coach has no business at the table.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Oct 07, 2007 at 09:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 08:57pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y2Koach
I don't think its a black and white issue of coach at scorers table = bad.
It really doesn't matter what anyone thinks, be they coach or official. The only thing that really matters in black and white is that coach at scorers table = technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 09:10pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It really doesn't matter what anyone thinks, be they coach or official. The only thing that really matters in black and white is that coach at scorers table = technical foul.
I don't think Koach (or I) was commenting on the rule. He was addressing Bktballref's comment that seemed to say "coach at table = bad". I think (although I could easily be wrong) that Koach knows the rule at this point, and was merely disagreeing with the seemingly "black and white" judgment that it's always bad for the coach to be at the table.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case 6.3.2 rwest Basketball 8 Thu Oct 28, 2004 04:04pm
Just in case vincebradford'sboy71 Basketball 26 Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:06am
case 8.3.1 A biglaz Baseball 3 Thu Mar 27, 2003 01:51pm
Who is out in this case ? Mrhappybigpants Softball 3 Fri Jul 26, 2002 05:07pm
ASA case oppool Softball 6 Wed Feb 14, 2001 11:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1