![]() |
|
|
|||
Flop / No contact / travel
Team A is losing by 20+ (score probably doesnt matter). Team B's first unit has taken several good charges in help defense on the baseline throughout the game. With about 3 minutes left, Team B puts subs into the game. A1 beats B1 along the baseline and drive to the goal. B2 comes over to help and sets up to take the charge. A1 anticipates the charge and pulls up for a jumpshot as B2 begins to fall backwards anticipating a charge. A1 senses that he might land on B2 and braces for an akward fall, never releases the ball for a shot. How should this type of situation be officiated? thanks.
|
|
|||
If, in the judgment of the official, this is a deliberate act of deception, it could be called a technical foul. 10-3-7: A player shall not commit an unsporting foul.
This includes.......faking being fouled..... What I get out of the description you give is B1 flinching away from contact. If this is the case, I think there is no question that traveling would be the call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Here's a better description of the scene if it helps with any insights on this situation: A1 is in the air, B2 is on the floor, A1 decides not to shoot and lands holding the ball legs straddled over B2 then hops over him out of bounds. B2 fell over with no contact having occured, anticipating a charge.
|
|
|||
Quote:
It may have been a nice sporting move for A1 to dodge landing on B2. He may have been concerned about injuring his opponent. Of course, he may also have been primarily concerned with not injuring himself, say twisting or breaking his ankle. There is no way to tell. As an official, I would try to make the best judgment of B2's actions that I could and simply be thankful that neither player was hurt. |
|
|||
thanks for your input. It was a weird looking play, and when the kid landed, no whistle blew for a couple seconds. I wasnt sure what would be the correct call, the kids just seemed to laugh it off a little (Team B because it was a young guy trying to take charges like the starters and totally missing it, Team A cuz A1 jumped, landed, jumped again and kinda ran out of bounds with the ball, with no immediate whistle).
So basically an official should be judging whether the defender was "giving ground" to lessen impact and just fell over, or was faking getting hit to draw a charge call? What would the call be if A1 landed on B2 upon finishing his shot? No LGP while laying on the ground? I could imagine that situation being dangerous for both parties involved. Hopefully this might get an interesting discussion going when everyone is awake tomorrow without any name calling or crazy message board drama. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Guarding 4-33-4a A.R. 91 B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Flop Question | lmeadski | Basketball | 14 | Sat Jul 28, 2007 05:11pm |
T for the flop | Junker | Basketball | 29 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 09:44am |
T and the flop | cmathews | Basketball | 12 | Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:27am |
charge/flop? | Troward | Basketball | 3 | Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:13am |
1 and 1 flop | rgaudreau | Basketball | 22 | Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:11pm |