View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2007, 03:00am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y2Koach
What would the call be if A1 landed on B2 upon finishing his shot? No LGP while laying on the ground? I could imagine that situation being dangerous for both parties involved. Hopefully this might get an interesting discussion going when everyone is awake tomorrow without any name calling or crazy message board drama.
Your play may spark some good discussion. For starters I would direct you to a recent post of JR's on the NFHS forum.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody
This is an old case book play that was removed a few years ago for some reason. Afaik the logic behind the ruling is still in effect.

PLAY:B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor.
RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

Sooooo, no-call in NFHS. Legal guarding position doesn't come into the call.Rule 4-23-1 does--"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."

Note that NCAA calls it differently.
Here is the NCAA ruling:
Guarding
4-33-4a A.R. 91 B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position.
Reply With Quote