![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
#3 legal: but what does A2 have to do with it? (Sam beat me to it...) #4,5,6: does need a dull witted defender but #6 sounds illegal (4,5 legal) |
|
|||
Quote:
By rule, there is the possibility that #2 could be deemed as a shot attempt. So overall, saying it is always illegal, is wrong. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
I mean, you're right, if it looked like it was supposed to be a shot, it's legal. But then it would have been written into the case. |
|
|||
Quote:
These two case plays provide the answers to all of the questions posed. 4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1's foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball. (9-5) 4.15.4 SITUATION E: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but an illegal dribble violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is an illegal dribble. (9-5) In #1 A1 could fumble and retrieve as stated in 4.15.4 SitD part (d). #2 is an illegal dribble per 4.15.4 Sit E part (b). #3 since the ball is allowed to strike the floor, this is a legal dribble per 4-15-3 and the converse of the ruling in 4.15.4 Sit E part (b). #4 is legal per the converse of 4.15.4 Sit D part (a) as the dribbler did not touch the ball twice before it struck the floor. #5 is the same as number four, but, of course, the player is allowed to pivot after ending the dribble. #6 illegal dribble per 4.15.4 Sit D part (a). |
|
|||
Quote:
#2 -- Hey, if A1 is in the backcourt and tosses the ball over B1's head and catches it in the backcourt, I agree. That is why I said previously "spirit and intent of the thread" as Juulie never mentioned backboard, rim, etc. But just wanted to point out a sitch exists (catching your own airball) where it is not considered an illegal dribble. |
|
|||
an overview to this thread......
One of the things we frequently hear from "knowledgeable" coaches and fans is:
"You can't pass it to yourself." This is true, but not for the reason that many think. 4-31: A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats, or rolls the ball to another player. The point is that when a player releases the ball, and then retrieves it himself, whether it is a legal play or not, by definition it is not a pass.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bounce and tip(?) | tjones1 | Baseball | 15 | Thu May 05, 2005 07:49am |
Bounce pass on throw-in | klancie | Basketball | 21 | Tue Sep 09, 2003 07:08pm |
Where to bounce pass the ball.... | RookieDude | Basketball | 29 | Tue Dec 17, 2002 08:21am |
HBP on the bounce. | Tom R | Baseball | 3 | Wed Aug 30, 2000 07:12pm |
out of bounce | Coach Kevin | Basketball | 5 | Sat Apr 01, 2000 03:16pm |