The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 30, 2000, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1
Smile

I know a bounced pitch only means that it cannot be a called strike.

What is the call when the ball bounces and hits the batter in the strike zone? It can't be a strike because [2.00 Strike (f)] it wasn't in flight. It doesn't get him first base because [6.08 (b)(1)] it touched him in the strike zone.

Is this a ball or does 6.08 assume in flight and it is HBP?

Tom R.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 30, 2000, 03:39pm
Bob Bob is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14
Wink

I'll take a flyer on this one.

Assumption is the batter is in the strike zone becuz the ball in the dirt was at or slightly behind him, so he moved forward and into the plate. Ball took a nasty hop right after him. I've got HBP.

Another choice is he was "leaning in" on a breaking ball headed for the dirt, lost his balance and stepped onto the plate or toward it to regain his balance. Up jumps the ball and tags him. I've still got HBP.

Becuz he wasn't swinging, and becuz the ball was in the dirt, and becuz he was in the plate area, I'm assuming he was moving to get out of the way of the pitch. I've got HBP if all the above is true.


Bob
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 30, 2000, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Bob:
I'll take a flyer on this one.

Becuz he wasn't swinging, and becuz the ball was in the dirt, and becuz he was in the plate area, I'm assuming he was moving to get out of the way of the pitch. I've got HBP if all the above is true.

Bob



Bob:

I agree. It's truly a point not exactly covered by the rules. But you're enumerated all the possibilities that it can't be, so we're left with HBP.

Good work.

------------------
Papa C
Editor, eUmpire
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 30, 2000, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 6
Post

On the off chance that you think he took advantage of the situation to get intentionally hit, I assume we would have a dead-ball "ball" call, regardless of whether the pitch was in the (former) zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1