![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
These two case plays provide the answers to all of the questions posed. 4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1's foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball. (9-5) 4.15.4 SITUATION E: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but an illegal dribble violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is an illegal dribble. (9-5) In #1 A1 could fumble and retrieve as stated in 4.15.4 SitD part (d). #2 is an illegal dribble per 4.15.4 Sit E part (b). #3 since the ball is allowed to strike the floor, this is a legal dribble per 4-15-3 and the converse of the ruling in 4.15.4 Sit E part (b). #4 is legal per the converse of 4.15.4 Sit D part (a) as the dribbler did not touch the ball twice before it struck the floor. #5 is the same as number four, but, of course, the player is allowed to pivot after ending the dribble. #6 illegal dribble per 4.15.4 Sit D part (a). |
|
|||
Quote:
Deleted bad advice. Last edited by mick; Fri Aug 31, 2007 at 12:50pm. |
|
|||
In your first scenario, if A1 has not already used his dribble, he can throw the ball over the defender, run around and catch the ball -- as long as he allows it to touch the floor first, thus turning a "self-pass" into a legal dribble. He can also continue that dribble normally.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
||||
Quote:
Right. Wrong. If the player had previously dribbled, he may not retrieve this pass until it's touched by another player. If the pass bounces, it's considered an illegal dribble. If it does not bounce, it's a travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
![]() The OP had the ball being thrown over a defender. He was either holding the ball or his dribble ended with the throw. If a dribbling player throws the ball upwards, the ball has to have come to rest in his hand. Retrieving the "pass" would still constitute a double (illegal) dribble unless another player has touched it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bounce and tip(?) | tjones1 | Baseball | 15 | Thu May 05, 2005 07:49am |
Bounce pass on throw-in | klancie | Basketball | 21 | Tue Sep 09, 2003 07:08pm |
Where to bounce pass the ball.... | RookieDude | Basketball | 29 | Tue Dec 17, 2002 08:21am |
HBP on the bounce. | Tom R | Baseball | 3 | Wed Aug 30, 2000 07:12pm |
out of bounce | Coach Kevin | Basketball | 5 | Sat Apr 01, 2000 03:16pm |