The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:33pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
1. B1 slaps the ball away from the dribbler A1 in the frontcourt near the sideline. B1 jumps out of bounds tips the ball back onto the court & is the first to touch after establishing in bound status… violation or not? We had violation.
Are you saying that B1 was out of bounds when touching the ball?

If that is not what you are saying and B1 was actually on the court, this would not be a violation. This is not football, all you have to do is come back in and you can touch any ball in bounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
2. On the jump ball to start the game A5 gently taps once, the ball drops straight down, B1 (non-jumper) reaches into the circle & gains control… violation or not? My partner (chopping) had violation.
Violation for what specifically? It is not illegal for a non-jumper to gain possession anywhere on the court after a jump ball?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
3. A5 goes for an offensive rebound but contacts B5 from behind in the process. Ruling: "push" or over-the-back as the fans like to say so we go the other way on the endline. The in-bounds pass goes out of bounds untouched on the sideline past half court. Before we administer the throw-in (on the same endline) the table says that A5s foul was the 7th team.
a. Is that correctable?
b. Do we shoot 1 & 1 even though the team just threw the ball away??
c. Would the lane be cleared & Team A in bounding on the same endline
where Team B turned it over?
My partner ruled that we will shoot 1 & 1 with players on the lane.
Yes this is correctable; this took place within the time frame. You shoot the 1 and 1 with the lane clear. Then you bring the ball back to spot where you noticed the error. So the ball is brought to the end line with Team A in possession.

It sounds like you let your partner run things. If these were real games you could get in trouble with them, you got to know these rules. Know you will know and you will likely own those rules for now on.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assistance appreciated! SWMOzebra Basketball 4 Thu Mar 22, 2007 01:59pm
Overlap Assistance jkumpire Volleyball 1 Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:34pm
Need assistance on this call TonyD Football 9 Tue Oct 25, 2005 05:40pm
Part One Questions Assistance refnrev Volleyball 3 Sat Jul 23, 2005 10:24am
Looking for some assistance nig85 Softball 9 Sat Feb 26, 2005 02:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1