![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
5. In bounds / Out of Bounds? There has been some confusion in recent years concerning whether a player may be the last to touch the ball befoer stepping out-of-bounds and then be the first person to touch the ball before returning in bounds. It is legal, except when there is player control. A player who is dribbling (player control) and steps out of bounds during the dribble, even though he/she is not touching the ball at any time, has violated. A player who is holding the ball and steps out of bounds has obviously violated. (end of that reference) Also, 1997-1998 Case Book, Revised Interpretation 31. Play: While A1 is dribbling in the frontcourt, the ball hits his or her foot and bounces away. During the interrupted dribble A1: (a) steps on the sideline; or (b) steps on the division line. A1 then recovers and passes the ball. Ruling: No violation has occurred as A1 is not in player control during an interrupted dribble. (Note that this revised interp made it to the Case Book as 4.15.5, but doesn't appear in subsequent years.) I hope that clarifies and puts and end to this discussion. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|