View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2001, 06:34am
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
so i was right.
After editing your post to change the second A1 to A2, you were correct. It's best to point out your error rather than changing your post after people have pointed out the error. As for your original comment:

[QUOTE]Originally posted by crew
rookie i agree with you completely. it is a violation in the first part. in the second part it is a violation if he is the first to touch after stepping out. this is how i have been taught to interpret the play [/QUOTE

Your comment was posted in response to these to situations:

Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie
Can someone clarify this rule for me? 1) If A1 is dribbling the ball and between dribbles he steps out of bounds, is this a OOB? 2) What if they push it up the court a couple of feet and then step out and back in? (I'm sure you have seen a player unguarded and push the ball up a couple of bounces and then catch up to it)
My interpretation is that 1 is an OOB violation and 2 is not.
I can see both sides of this, having thought of another way to portray this situation. Technically speaking, the violation occurred the minute A1 stepped OOB, unless you have decided it is an interrupted dribble, in which case we wll never have a violation. However, all you veteran casebook readers out there, consider this:

If A1 pushes the ball away a couple of bounces and A2 runs along and grabs the ball, we have no violation. That push was a pass and the dribble had ended. If A1 goes back and resumes his dribble or grabs the ball, we have never lost player control, and in the latter case the dribble never stopped until the player grabbed it - dribbler was OOB, therefore violation.

So I can clearly see why you might hold the whistle to see what transpires - you are not mind readers. But if and when A1 touches the ball, the violation still technically occurred when and where A1 stepped out, not when and where A1 touched the ball.
Reply With Quote