The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
hawkscoach,
very difficult question! but i am going to say violation.
why? an interupted dribble in this scenario is still part of a dribble. which would refer back to the dribble rule(though no player control) identified earlier. this is my reasoning, a player dribbles loses control for a second then regains the ball by 1) catching the ball or 2) continuing the dribble. legal in both cases. in the 1st scenario he cannot dribble again because he has already used his dribble. therefor in your situation (hawks coach) i would deem this a violation. though i am not 100%. this is a good question and i tried to play the situation in my mind and thought violation, even then i called my mentor and asked him verbatim what you asked. he agreed violation after some thought and reasoning.
not all plays are cut and dry, philosophy, reasoning, common sense, and rules come into effect on many plays that are discussed in this forum.

bob,
i do consider that some of my philosophies may be incorrect. i have provided rulings for this situation. you have to put a couple of rules together to get a correct outcome, though there is not a ruling that identifies this play exactly. judgement has to be made, not all situations are black and white.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1