The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2007, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
"4-15-ART. 2 . . . During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is
permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)."

This rule is definining what a player may and may not do. While it is not explicitly listed in rule 9 under illegal dribble, its mere presence in the definition of dribbling relates it to an illegal dribble.


This rule clearly says that when a ball, during a dribble, is batted into the air, the dribbler can only touch the ball again (with the hands) if it is first allowed to hit the floor. It doesn't distinguish between that subsequent touch being another dribble or a catch to end the dribble. The "during a dribble" part of the rule is only refering to the time the ball is batted, not the subsequent touch.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1