![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
...and Baylor is crushing Texas right now!!! Last edited by Nevadaref; Fri Mar 09, 2007 at 10:37pm. |
|
|||
In the IL vs IN game in the Big Ten tournament, there was a big call near the end of regulation. IL down 4; Frasier for IL takes a 3-pt. shot, L comes out with a foul on IN under the basket, ball goes in, L emphatically wipes off shot and is ready to give IL bonus FT's. Officials get together during the TV TO, and after discussion award the 3-pt. shot, saying the shot was in the air at the time of the foul. I agree with the ruling, if that is what happened, but there was some confusion with the announcers (imagine that...) as to whether they could go to the monitor to review if the shot was indeed in the air at the time of the foul. Is this one of the things that can be reviewed by monitor? Or did they just get together as a crew to determine if the shot was in the air? All this occurred during the commercial, so I couldn't see how the officials came to the conclusion.
Last play of regulation, scored tied 50-50, IN misses a shot, IL player gets a long rebound and gets knocked to floor, then the horn goes off. Of course, now the announcers are saying the officials should go the monitor to review if there is a foul. As far as I know, you cannot use the monitor for that purpose, correct?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
1) The ball doesn't have to be in flight for continuous motion to apply. The officials could have used the monitor if they wished in this case as this was a correctable error because they erroneously counted or cancelled a score.
2) The officials cannot go to the monitor to determine if a foul occurred. That is a judgment call. But if one of them had called a foul on the play, they could have used the monitor to see if that foul had happened before the expiration of time. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
I was downstairs just a-surfing away at all the games when my wife wandered through for a minute. For some reason, she mentioned something about having a "living trust" in our wills. I told her that I never wanted to live in a vegetative state, dependent on a machine and a bottle of liquids. I told her that if I ever got like that, she should pull the plug. Sooooooooo, she pulled the plug on the tv and threw out my beer.
Wimmen...... ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() 1) The interesting part about this play was there didn't seem to be a definitive replay showing the foul called during the shot. I think they might've just gotten together as a crew to sort it out. I know I've had the same type of play before, and the crew has gotten together to make this call without the benefit of a monitor. 2) Let's say I was in that position where I see push, then the horn blows, and I don't blow my whistle. Can I go to the monitor to check if the horn went off before or after the push, even though I didn't actually blow my whistle for the foul?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Isn't this a judgment call about when the habitual motion starts? You can't go to the monitor for judgment calls. And it's not really a correctable error. The official ruled that the foul was before the continuous motion and correctly disallowed the goal. I'm just guessing, but I don't think the monitor can be used in this situation. |
|
|||
Cusa
I am in Memphis watching the CUSA Tournament. Quarterfinals Tulane vs Tulsa. Tulane is winning by 3 pts. I believe less than 5 seconds to play and the official scorer informs the calling official that Tulsa has just commited the 10th team foul. A1 shoots and misses the 1st throw. Just B1 enters the lane and controls the rebound. Scorekeeper signals the horn. They tell the officials that it was just the 9th team foul.
![]() So, even the scorer table screws up at the big games too. |
|
|||
Cusa
Semi Finals. Houston vs Rice. Tom O'Neill never switched after reporting a foul. He always stayed as a 'C' on the side away from the table. ALL of the 2nd half. There were a few times that one of the other officials rotated onto his side. Then when the ball went the other way, the same official rotated back to the table side.
So I'm thinking he has an injury and the others are covering for him. Guess what? Tom O'Neill is the referee for the Finals game. Memphis vs. Houston. No problem with switches or rotations. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
X-Mas Tournaments | JRutledge | Basketball | 8 | Sat Dec 24, 2005 12:23am |
weekend tournaments | Junker | Basketball | 16 | Tue Mar 02, 2004 11:22am |
Tournaments are so much fun! | TwoBits | Baseball | 2 | Tue Jun 11, 2002 03:14pm |
Tournaments | tulsablue | Softball | 5 | Thu May 16, 2002 05:38am |
Tournaments | Stripes130 | Basketball | 0 | Mon Jul 16, 2001 03:16am |