In the IL vs IN game in the Big Ten tournament, there was a big call near the end of regulation. IL down 4; Frasier for IL takes a 3-pt. shot, L comes out with a foul on IN under the basket, ball goes in, L emphatically wipes off shot and is ready to give IL bonus FT's. Officials get together during the TV TO, and after discussion award the 3-pt. shot, saying the shot was in the air at the time of the foul. I agree with the ruling, if that is what happened, but there was some confusion with the announcers (imagine that...) as to whether they could go to the monitor to review if the shot was indeed in the air at the time of the foul. Is this one of the things that can be reviewed by monitor? Or did they just get together as a crew to determine if the shot was in the air? All this occurred during the commercial, so I couldn't see how the officials came to the conclusion.
Last play of regulation, scored tied 50-50, IN misses a shot, IL player gets a long rebound and gets knocked to floor, then the horn goes off. Of course, now the announcers are saying the officials should go the monitor to review if there is a foul. As far as I know, you cannot use the monitor for that purpose, correct?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.
(Used with permission.)
|