The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2004, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 198
Question

Team A is inbounding the ball to start the second half. They commit a 5-second violation. Switch the arrow?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2004, 11:21pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,654
Quote:
Originally posted by gostars
Team A is inbounding the ball to start the second half. They commit a 5-second violation. Switch the arrow?

Yes, the AP Arrow is reversed. Team B receives the ball for a throw-in due to Team A's throw-in violation. The next time there is a held ball or jump ball situation, Team B will receive the AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2004, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 198
Would the arrow have been changed if Team A had commited a foul before the ball was released?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2004, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by gostars
Would the arrow have been changed if Team A had commited a foul before the ball was released?
No. In fact, the arrow would not change if Team A had committed a foul anytime before the throw-in ended (not just when it was released).
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2004, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
the AP arrow is not changed if there is a foul by either team; the arrow is reversed when the AP throw-in ends. The AP throw-in ends when the throw-in ends (the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower) or when the throw-in team violates.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2004, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 198
Thanks for the answers. In the case of the first question I was the timer and switched the arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1