![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
In the context of this thread your answer says the ball can be blocked off the glass only if it's on the way up.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Ok, after putting on my hyper-technical hat, I see what you are saying.
I took Johnny's question to be that he desired to know if it was legal to block a shot that had already hit the backboard, was still above the level of the ring, was not in the cylinder, and had a chance to go in. I simply replied that as long as the ball was still on the way up, then this is a legal block per the Simplified & Illustrated reference that I already cited. In otherwords, I took all of the other criteria as given. In the context of his question, I was not dealing with a ball that strikes the backboard, but is below the level or the ring, or has no chance to enter the basket, or is in the cylinder. Of course, to answer the general case, you are correct to point out that all of those other factors need to be considered. That's what I get for thinking that Johnny asked a relatively straightforward question. Perhaps I read to much into it, but I believe that he was seeking an answer for a very specific case. We'll just have to wait and let him clarify. Hopefully, we've both helped him to understand this better. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
So, it all boils down to: was the ball in it's downward flight - no matter if it hit the backboard or not. If the try is in it's downward flight and has a chance to go in - it is golatending. The hitting the backboard really has nothing to do with it.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
3 Things
Quote:
2. Ball on downward flight. 3. Ball has a chance to go in. If any of these things do not apply, you cannot have goaltending. You notice hitting the backboard is not apart of this equation. ![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In a vacuum Nevada's answer is correct. In regard to how the backboard comes into play in this rule he is wrong. The backboard has nothing to do with GT, whether the ball is going up, down or levitating in mid air.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
I understand your point, but I don't want some newbie to come along and see the following exchange: OP: Is it goaltending to block the shot off the backboard if it's still on the way up. Nevada: It's never goaltending to hit the try on the way up. Dan: That's incomplete and incorrect. Yikes! That gives a very bad impression of the actual rule. I know what you were getting at and you're right that Nevadaref's answer doesn't address the point that the backboard has nothing to do with goaltending or basket interference. But it is equally true that it's never goaltending to touch the try on its upward flight (unless it's a free throw). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A question for those of you who do both HS and college | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 16 | Mon Nov 06, 2006 02:53pm |
College Question | buckrog64 | Basketball | 1 | Mon Jan 16, 2006 07:07pm |
Goaltending question | flaref0812 | Basketball | 7 | Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:22am |
College question | Junker | Basketball | 17 | Wed Sep 28, 2005 01:36pm |
goaltending question | Jeff Sarratt | Basketball | 12 | Mon Jan 10, 2005 03:50pm |