The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   college goaltending question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31620-college-goaltending-question.html)

cmathews Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:41am

college goaltending question
 
A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?

truerookie Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmathews
A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?

Count the basket!!! If it is on it's downward flight and have possibility of entering the basket. If it's on it's upward flight play on!!! Goaltending applies (1) during a try for a field goal or free throw, or (2) when a tapped ball is in flight toward the tapper’s basket. The ball may not be touched while it is on its downward flight during a try for field goal while any part of the ball is above ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket.

Dan_ref Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmathews
A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?

Gotta be outside the cylinder, on the way down, be entirely above the rim and have a chance to go in. Nothing about the glass in the rule.

Sounds like your case is legal.

edit: we pushed 'enter' at the same time, you must live closer to the forum server :)

SamIAm Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmathews
A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?

I feel safe saying you can't have goaltending on a ball that is not above the rim.

Raymond Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:06pm

Quote:

A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?
Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Count the basket!!! If it is on it's downward flight and have possibility of entering the basket. If it's on it's upward flight play on!!!

Ball never made it above the rim, cannot be goaltending in this case. That applies in high school also.

However, in the NBA I think there is a rule about hitting the ball after it hits the backboard.

cmathews Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:30pm

I knew that in the fed rules, the glass didn't play a part in the ruling, just wasn't sure about the NCAA thanks guys...

IREFU2 Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmathews
A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?

I had this happen in a game the other night. Good thing I was looking. I was in the trail table side. The funny thing is the slot (C) didnt catch it and it was on his side of the of the basket. Anyway, blew it dead, scored the basket and patted myself on the back!

Raymond Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
I had this happen in a game the other night. Good thing I was looking. I was in the trail table side. The funny thing is the slot (C) didnt catch it and it was on his side of the of the basket. Anyway, blew it dead, scored the basket and patted myself on the back!

You better not have patted yourself on the back if your scenario was the same as the OP. :(

This is not goaltending: "A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?"

truerookie Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Ball never made it above the rim, cannot be goaltending in this case. That applies in high school also.

However, in the NBA I think there is a rule about hitting the ball after it hits the backboard.

Good point!! I stated the requirements in my original post. truerookie :"If it is on it's downward flight and have possibility of entering the basket. If it's on it's upward flight play on!!!

IREFU2 Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
You better not have patted yourself on the back if your scenario was the same as the OP. :(

This is not goaltending: "A1 shoots a layup, B2 contacts the ball after it has hit the glass but before it is above the rim, is this a goaltend in college ball?"

Trust me, it hit the corner of the square and was on it way down into the basket.....tweet!!!!!

Raymond Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Trust me, it hit the corner of the square and was on it way down into the basket.....tweet!!!!!

That's not the same scenario as was stated in the OP. It's an important distinction.

IREFU2 Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
That's not the same scenario as was stated in the OP. It's an important distinction.

Thanks for pointing that obvious fact out to me.

Raymond Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Thanks for pointing that obvious fact out to me.

Don't want anyone thinking you called a GT for the same scenario as the OP's.

I'm a very literal person. :)

IREFU2 Thu Feb 08, 2007 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Don't want anyone thinking you called a GT for the same scenario as the OP's.

I'm a very literal person. :)

Never, give me a call.

Johnny Ringo Fri Feb 09, 2007 03:48am

In high school ... ball hits glass on a try. Can it be touched and not be goaltending?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1