The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Sep 27, 2005, 08:39am
Official Forum Member

I have a question for you college guys, especially any of you that assign games. I'm heading to a JUCO jamboree in a couple of weeks to get looked at and possibly get some games out of it (I've never worked that level before). I really didn't even think about stepping up to college until some comments given to me at camps this summer so it's a fairly new goal for me. I know I need to be more aware of "dead ball officiating", but what other things can help me look good? I'll be really suprised if I get games the first year down there, but I want to look good enough that I will be considered for games down the road. Thanks.
Old Tue Sep 27, 2005, 10:00am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Junker, I don't assign games at any level, so you can take my comments or leave them. My suggestion to you would be simply to do what you did at camp. You got comments at camp for a reason. Keep doing those things.

1) Look good -- uniform; crisp mechanics.
2) Work hard -- bust your hump from Trail to new Lead; work your butt off in the Center position; "move to improve"; don't be hesitant in your rotations.
3) Get the calls right!

Good luck, man. Hope you have some fun, too.
Old Tue Sep 27, 2005, 10:13am
Official Forum Member

Thanks Chuck. One area I know I need to work on is I get a little stationary when I'm at C and T. I get a decent angle when the ball is away from me and I stand in the same place for too long. Good suggestions, you reminded me to get my butt moving in those positions.
Old Tue Sep 27, 2005, 10:46am
Official Forum Member