The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Coach wants specific side on endline...

Official told me this happened to him the other day.

Coming out of a time-out, after a made basket by Team A...Coach B wants to know if it is alright to have the endline throw-in on the side (of the basket) closest to his bench. (He said he had already designed a play for that side.)

Questions:
Would you tell the Coach that you would stay in the same alignment that your crew was in on the made basket?

Would you tell the Coach that his player could simply run to that side if they needed to run a play designed for that side of the basket?

Would you tell the Coach, "no problem", and switch to the desired side that the coach requested? (Realizing that you have now created a switch in positions of the new L and new C.)
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA

Last edited by RookieDude; Wed Jan 24, 2007 at 09:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 09:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude
Official told me this happened to him the other day.

Coming out of a time-out, after a made basket by Team A...Coach B wants to know if it is alright to have the endline throw-in on the side (of the basket) closest to his bench. (He said he had already designed a play for that side.)

Questions:
Would you tell the Coach that you would stay in the same alignment that your crew was in on the made basket?

Would you tell the Coach that his player could simply run to that side if they needed to run a play designed for that side of the basket?

Would you tell the Coach, "no problem", and switch to the desired side that the coach requested? (Realizing that you have now created a switch in positions of the new L and new C.)
Would tell the Coach, "no problem", and switch to the desired side that the coach requested. (Partners coming from blocks or top of circle are not troubled.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 47
Sounds to me like if it is after a made basket, he has the whole end line to run. Put the ball in play where you had designated to your crew as the TO was called. If that is not the side he wants to run the play from, then his playeris free to move to that spot after you administer the ball. Don't let a coach tell you where to put the ball at any time. JMO.
__________________
As an official, I always appreciate the crowds stupidity. It reminds me why I am on the court, and they are sitting in the bleachers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
Quote:
Coming out of a time-out, after a made basket by Team A...Coach B wants to know if it is alright to have the endline throw-in on the side (of the basket) closest to his bench. (He said he had already designed a play for that side.)
Player can run the baseline. Doesn't matter where the "spot" is. However, the "spot" is not an option. There is only 1 place it can be for a spot throw-in: the closest point on the sideline or baseline to where the action that caused the deadball to occur. (Those are my words not the rules since I couldn't find my Official's Manual that discusses out of bounds locations.)

Unless, of course, the action happens in the paint. THen all bets are off. I, however, have never had a coach request a side. I have had them ask where the in-bounds would be, but never ask for a change of my call where it will be. How would you feel as the opposing coach if you heard THAT conversation? No way would I let a coach dictate anything like that to me.

Last edited by Ignats75; Wed Jan 24, 2007 at 09:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Not a big deal. I'd go to the side he wanted.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
Player can run the baseline. Doesn't matter where the "spot" is. However, the "spot" is not an option. There is only 1 place it can be for a spot throw-in: the closest point on the sideline or baseline to where the action that caused the deadball to occur. (Those are my words not the rules since I couldn't find my Official's Manual that discusses out of bounds locations.)

Unless, of course, the action happens in the paint. Then all bets are off. I, however, have never had a coach request a side. I have had them ask where the in-bounds would be, but never ask for a change of my call where it will be. How would you feel as the opposing coach if you heard THAT conversation? No way would I let a coach dictate anything like that to me.
Good points, except the ball was made dead by the basket. There is no location closest to the ball in this case. There is no 'spot' in this case. Move to the other side, wait for your partner(s) to adjust, remind the players he can run the line and put the ball in play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
Right. I just wasn't clear. Those are two separate situations. Brevity isn't always the best.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 10:19am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Good points, except the ball was made dead by the basket. There is no location closest to the ball in this case. There is no 'spot' in this case. Move to the other side, wait for your partner(s) to adjust, remind the players he can run the line and put the ball in play.
Unless of course the ball was already at someone's disposal when the TO request was made.

But, I've never had a coach request a certain spot to begin a non-designated spot throw-in so I've never had to think about it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Unless of course the ball was already at someone's disposal when the TO request was made.
I would be interested to see if you can provide a rule for this (not saying you can't, just too lazy to look myself).

Anyway, consider yourself challenged
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 10:38am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Unless of course the ball was already at someone's disposal when the TO request was made.
I have had an in-thrower, after a score, request a time out in a press situation, and then allowed the end-line throw-in when the teams returned.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 11:06am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Unless of course the ball was already at someone's disposal when the TO request was made.
That don't make no nevermind. Case book play 7.5.7SitC(d). They can still throw-in from anywhere along the endline after the TO.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 11:09am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I would be interested to see if you can provide a rule for this (not saying you can't, just too lazy to look myself).

Anyway, consider yourself challenged
You said the ball is always dead when these time-outs are requested. My point is that the ball is not always dead. Sometimes it is live because it is a the disposal of the throw-in team. So in those cases I start the thrower-in at the appropriate spot but remind him/her that they still have the privilege of running the base-line.

And as I stated previously, I've never had a coach ask me to start the throw-in from a specific spot, they always just want to confirm that their player can run the base-line.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 24, 2007 at 11:12am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
You said the ball is always dead when these time-outs are requested. My point is that the ball is not always dead. Sometimes it is live because it is a the disposal of the throw-in team. So in those cases I start the thrower-in at the appropriate spot but remind him/her that they still have the privilege of running the base-line.
Yeahbut what I'm saying is even in this case I will let him start at whatever side he wants. Why? Because the ball was not made dead at a spot, it was made dead at the endline. He's entitled to be anywhere on the endline - start, middle or finish of the throw-in.

If you have a rule to show I'm wrong I would be glad to see it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 11:23am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
You said the ball is always dead when these time-outs are requested. My point is that the ball is not always dead. Sometimes it is live because it is a the disposal of the throw-in team. So in those cases I start the thrower-in at the appropriate spot but remind him/her that they still have the privilege of running the base-line.
So....what if the thrower is right in the middle of the paint when the TO is called. Would you still pick a side, or let the coach choose which side to start?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
So....what if the thrower is right in the middle of the paint when the TO is called. Would you still pick a side, or let the coach choose which side to start?
Or even worse, would you put the ball in play directly under the basket?
__________________
As an official, I always appreciate the crowds stupidity. It reminds me why I am on the court, and they are sitting in the bleachers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of the Endline? Rick Durkee Basketball 4 Wed Feb 08, 2006 02:57pm
IHSA Specific Guidelines Available Somewhere? tskill Baseball 11 Mon May 02, 2005 10:07am
baseball specific sites? baseballfreak23 Baseball 1 Mon Sep 08, 2003 08:31pm
Lead me to the specific rule or cases. devdog69 Football 5 Mon Nov 18, 2002 12:54pm
What is specific rule: DEW Basketball 4 Sun Jan 02, 2000 04:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1