![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official: ART.3...Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: a.) The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team. The whistle doesn't have to blow within a milisecond of the timout request occuring for it to be recognized and then dealt with appropriately. I believe that the provision in 5.8.3.a refers to when the moment the TO request is made, not to the moment when the whistle is blown. For example, if a player makes a valid timeout request (in other words, the conditions of 5.8.3.a are all met), then I should award the timeout. I don't think that the "conditions" of 5.8.3.a must necessarily continue until I blow the whistle, only that they must be present when the request is made and that I recognize and award the TO in a timely fashion. For an analogy consider this: a foul by B1 occurs on A1. I do not have to blow my whistle WHILE the foul is still happening in order for it to be a valid foul call. In most cases, the whistle is reference a "foul" condition that existed in the past, has now been recognized to be illegal, and is being dealt with appropriately. Using official speak, the foul happened, and I go back and get it. Just my thots.....merry christmas. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Granting time to batter | rharrell | Softball | 2 | Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:16pm |
Granting TO Fed. Rules | Stripes1950 | Basketball | 19 | Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:22pm |
Granting or not granting time for batter | SactoBlue | Softball | 5 | Sun Aug 01, 2004 08:53pm |
granting timouts | golfdesigner | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 11, 2002 10:31pm |
Granting Time-out | Brian S | Basketball | 5 | Sat Mar 11, 2000 07:42pm |