![]() |
|
|
|||
Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball
A1 goes up for a shot. As he's going up, the ball slips from his hands and goes straight up in the air.
1. Can the shooter catch it? 2. If so, is he restricted in any way once he catches it as far as dribbling? Is it treated like any other missed shot? |
|
|||
In college, this is explicitly allowed. There was a case play released on it early this season.
In high school, it is not explicitly addressed, as far as I know. But I would agree with Snaqwells that it is legal. |
|
|||
Quote:
Another old thread....argued ad infinitum, ad nauseum......to no definitive agreement. |
|
|||
I believe there is a situation in the High School case book in regards to this. I will look it up when I get home. But off the top of my head I believe it is to the effect of, If you believe that this is an attempt at a try, then yes he can catch it and reestablish a pivot foot but can not dribble.
|
|
|||
Quote:
BTW, I had argued that it was a legal play. So Bob, how about posting ALL of the interps from that year in a separate thread? Please! ![]() |
|
||||
Quote:
What's the rule reference for this restriction? Quote:
No, he's not an airborne shooter. He never shot the ball. The rule says nothing about an airborne shooter fumbling, because it's inherently impossible; you can't fumble a ball that's been released for a shot. Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
Okay, I think I see how this is traveling. Since a fumble is not one of the allowed actions a player may take after lifting his pivot foot, it should be a travel. However, I don't think it depends on whether the fumbler is the first to recover the ball after he lands. It's either a travel right away, or she can recover it without penalty.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
O.K. The play: A1 takes two dribbles from the top of the key towards the wing...jumps (jumpshot) for a try and the basketball rockets out of his hands straight up in the air.
NOTE: A1 was in the air when this happened. A1 returns to the floor and then catches the ball (first to touch). Is this legal? If so are they allowed to pivot, dribble, shoot, pass, etc ... |
|
|||
Quote:
1. on whether this is an NCAA or NFHS game 2. on whom you ask Go read the old thread. Tony posted a link to it. Within that one is another old thread on this. Read that one too. Then you can answer your own question. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
FT - ball gets away from shooter | Rich | Basketball | 12 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 01:22am |
Fouled shooter recaptures ball | TriggerMN | Basketball | 27 | Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:42pm |
Ball drops after passing hip. | Rattlehead | Softball | 5 | Wed Aug 17, 2005 08:26am |
Foul away from shooter, ball in air | lukealex | Basketball | 1 | Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:29pm |
shooter goes out of bounds and comes back in and gets ball | timharris | Basketball | 2 | Sun Mar 16, 2003 09:28pm |