The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:32pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I hate not knowing a rule - even worse, thinking I know it and don't have it write. So, let me ask one more question - occured in the same game...

Ball is being inbounded and one of my players breaks the plane and touches the ball before it enter the court... first violation. She was given a "T" foul. I asked the ref about a warning - my understanding of the rule was that the first violation was a warning, and subsequent violations would be a "T". The ruling the ref gave me was that the warning is for breaking the plane, but contact with the ball is an automatic "T"...

Thanks.
If she just breaks the plane, then it is only a warning (if it is the first one). If she makes contact with the ball it is an automatic T and it counts as a first warning also in case there is another boundary plane violation.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
If she just breaks the plane, then it is only a warning (if it is the first one). If she makes contact with the ball it is an automatic T and it counts as a first warning also in case there is another boundary plane violation.

Again...thanks to all...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
If she just breaks the plane, then it is only a warning (if it is the first one). If she makes contact with the ball it is an automatic T and it counts as a first warning also in case there is another boundary plane violation.
Don't forget - with the new rule in place this season, it also counts as the warning for any of the four delay situations.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I hate not knowing a rule - even worse, thinking I know it and don't have it write. So, let me ask one more question - occured in the same game...

Ball is being inbounded and one of my players breaks the plane and touches the ball before it enter the court... first violation. She was given a "T" foul. I asked the ref about a warning - my understanding of the rule was that the first violation was a warning, and subsequent violations would be a "T". The ruling the ref gave me was that the warning is for breaking the plane, but contact with the ball is an automatic "T"...

Thanks.
Now the ruling is slightly different if the Thrower had released the ball. Upon release, the defender is allowed to break the boundary plane and touch the ball without violating ANY rule.
Violation and fouls (as described) only apply if the thrower still has possession/control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Just for completeness sake, there's one more aspect you should know. It the defender breaks the plane and fouls the thrower, it's an automatic intentional foul.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
I want to go back to the original question for a sec:

Quote:
Greetings all - this is my first post. What is the rule for a player continuing to play once over the 5 personal foul limit? I was coaching this weekend against a team that had a girl who had five fouls - the official score book (home team) said it was only four. Later, the girl got another foul - then it was realized that she actually had six fouls - which was agreed by the official scorer. What happens here? Should this be a technical foul? I know that playing a disqualified player is a direct technical against the coach, but she hadn't been disqualified yet - although she should have been. I thought it should have been a technical - but not sure here... just looking for an answer in case something like this happens again.
In FIBA (wich is international and european rules) this would be a bench technical to the coach (when a player commits his sixth foul the coach gets it insted).
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
I want to go back to the original question for a sec:



In FIBA (wich is international and european rules) this would be a bench technical to the coach (when a player commits his sixth foul the coach gets it insted).
Let me get this straight. In international competition, if the official book only has four fouls for a player, and that player is allowed to continue playing by the officials, when it's discovered that the official book is wrong, it's a T on the coach? Is this some kind of disincentive to keep the home (presumably the official book is the home book in most cases?) bookkeeper from fiddling the numbers?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 03:03pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
I believe there used to be a case play where a player continued to participate after receiving a 5th foul before the situation is discovered. If I remember correctly, the ruling is that the player is to be replaced at the next dead ball after he/she is discovered to have fouled out, but there is no further penalty since the player was not yet officially disqualified. ("Officially"meaning the table informs the referee and the referee then informing the coach).
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball

Last edited by Stat-Man; Tue Dec 19, 2006 at 05:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
P.S. Scorebooks are to be kept in INK to help with no unsporting beheavior.[/QUOTE]

Wow! Been calling a long time and have never seen a book completed, or attempted, in ink?

Mulk
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 05:24pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey
P.S. Scorebooks are to be kept in INK to help with no unsporting beheavior.
Wow! Been calling a long time and have never seen a book completed, or attempted, in ink?

Mulk[/QUOTE]

Come to one of my games. Depending on the level, you can expect to see my game sheet have two or four colors of ink, one for each period (not including overtime). The official scorer at another local high school does the same.

I do it because:

(1) My dad was a scorer in a game where the visiting coach was arguing about team fouls, and after the game, the AD suggested he use either different colors or opposite hash marks ( / vs. \ ) for each half.

(2) When compiling totals for the quarter/half and game, it's easier to sum up the like-colored symbols.

But I have personally not heard of this being a requirement by rule.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball

Last edited by Stat-Man; Tue Dec 19, 2006 at 05:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man
Wow! Been calling a long time and have never seen a book completed, or attempted, in ink?

Mulk
Come to one of my games. Depending on the level, you can expect to see my game sheet have two or four colors of ink, one for each period (not including overtime). The official scorer at another local high school does the same.

I do it because:

(1) My dad was a scorer in a game where the visiting coach was arguing about team fouls, and after the game, the AD suggested he use either different colors or opposite hash marks ( / vs. \ ) for each half.

(2) When compiling totals for the quarter/half and game, it's easier to sum up the like-colored symbols.

But I have personally not heard of this being a requirement by rule.[/QUOTE]

My mom does the book at my old high school, and this is the way they do it, different colors each quarter. It can help if there is a discrepancy, although hopefully that isn't something anybody has to deal with.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man
Come to one of my games. Depending on the level, you can expect to see my game sheet have two or four colors of ink, one for each period (not including overtime). The official scorer at another local high school does the same.
Interesting! I usually just do the opposite angled hash marks and (in an NCAA book) write the time for everything.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2006, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
Now the ruling is slightly different if the Thrower had released the ball. Upon release, the defender is allowed to break the boundary plane and touch the ball without violating ANY rule.
Violation and fouls (as described) only apply if the thrower still has possession/control of the ball.
Really - So if the thrower releases the ball, and a defender breaks the boundary to touch the ball, there is NO violation??
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2006, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I hate not knowing a rule - even worse, thinking I know it and don't have it write. So, let me ask one more question - occured in the same game...

Ball is being inbounded and one of my players breaks the plane and touches the ball before it enter the court... first violation. She was given a "T" foul. I asked the ref about a warning - my understanding of the rule was that the first violation was a warning, and subsequent violations would be a "T". The ruling the ref gave me was that the warning is for breaking the plane, but contact with the ball is an automatic "T"...

Thanks.
If they touch the ball, it is a T. The official was correct.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 21, 2006, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Greetings all - this is my first post. What is the rule for a player continuing to play once over the 5 personal foul limit? I was coaching this weekend against a team that had a girl who had five fouls - the official score book (home team) said it was only four. Later, the girl got another foul - then it was realized that she actually had six fouls - which was agreed by the official scorer. What happens here? Should this be a technical foul? I know that playing a disqualified player is a direct technical against the coach, but she hadn't been disqualified yet - although she should have been. I thought it should have been a technical - but not sure here... just looking for an answer in case something like this happens again.

Thanks.

Anthony
E. Russell Hicks Lady Rebels
Coach, since this was not an unsporting act, but merely do to a scoring error, there is no penalty. Here is the rule straight from the book that states what to do in such a case.

NFHS 2-11-11
Note 2. The procedure if a player who has committed his/her fifth foul continues to play because the scorer has failed to notify the official is as follows: As soon as the scorer discovers the irregularity, the game horn should be sounded after, or as soon as, the ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The disqualified player must be removed immediately. Any points which may have been scored while such player was illegally in the game are counted. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical on fan with :02 to go mplagrow Basketball 13 Fri Feb 10, 2006 03:44pm
Technical? Toadman15241 Basketball 16 Wed Jan 25, 2006 09:08am
T.V. Technical? RoyalsCoach Basketball 16 Sun Jan 01, 2006 04:13pm
Rule Clarification -- Technical FT's Indy_Ref Basketball 9 Mon Jan 27, 2003 04:12pm
Mark P. and the Technical Foul rule ChuckElias Basketball 3 Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1