View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 21, 2006, 12:08am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Greetings all - this is my first post. What is the rule for a player continuing to play once over the 5 personal foul limit? I was coaching this weekend against a team that had a girl who had five fouls - the official score book (home team) said it was only four. Later, the girl got another foul - then it was realized that she actually had six fouls - which was agreed by the official scorer. What happens here? Should this be a technical foul? I know that playing a disqualified player is a direct technical against the coach, but she hadn't been disqualified yet - although she should have been. I thought it should have been a technical - but not sure here... just looking for an answer in case something like this happens again.

Thanks.

Anthony
E. Russell Hicks Lady Rebels
Coach, since this was not an unsporting act, but merely do to a scoring error, there is no penalty. Here is the rule straight from the book that states what to do in such a case.

NFHS 2-11-11
Note 2. The procedure if a player who has committed his/her fifth foul continues to play because the scorer has failed to notify the official is as follows: As soon as the scorer discovers the irregularity, the game horn should be sounded after, or as soon as, the ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The disqualified player must be removed immediately. Any points which may have been scored while such player was illegally in the game are counted. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials.
Reply With Quote