The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 08:30am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I believe that the NBA rule is different from the NCAA and NFHS ruling for this play. I think that in the NBA team control does end on the touch by B2 and therefore this is not a backcourt violation. That may well be the source of much misunderstanding at the NCAA and NFHS levels.
From the NBA's website.

Quote:
Rule 4, Section XVII-Team Control
A team is in control when a player is holding, dribbling or passing the ball. Team control ends when the defensive team deflects the ball or there is a field goal attempt.
So the play in question is not a backcourt violation in the NBA, but IS a violation under NFHS and college rules.

Last edited by Scrapper1; Tue Dec 05, 2006 at 10:47am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another back court question dsturdy5 Basketball 13 Mon Jun 06, 2005 09:10am
Another back court question Jay R Basketball 11 Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:25pm
Maybe a new question for the Back Court Violation Quiz Ref in PA Basketball 9 Sun Nov 16, 2003 06:23pm
another back court question walter Basketball 44 Fri Jun 30, 2000 08:57am
Another back court question BSL Basketball 10 Mon Dec 06, 1999 03:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1