The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Another Back Court Question

A1 has the ball in front court along baseline. A1 gets trapped & throws a long pass towards A2 at the division line. B2 TIPS ball then A2 TIPS the ball. Ball goes into backcourt. A2 retrieves the ball. Do you have a backcourt violation? I guess the real question is.......does the tip by B2 cause a loss of As team control?
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 04:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
The tip by B2 does not mean a loss oteam control. Therefore.....back court violation.See case book plays 4.12COMMENT

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Dec 04, 2006 at 04:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 04:46pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If A2 was in the frontcourt, it is a violation. Tip by B did not cause loss of team control.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
That's what I thought, but I didn't have my books to verify. Thanks for the input.
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Once team control is established, it is lost only on:
  • A dead ball
  • A try
  • When the other team gains control
And, of course, the other team only gains control when one of their players is holding or dribbling a live ball in-bounds.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Mon Dec 04, 2006 at 04:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,658
I believe that the NBA rule is different from the NCAA and NFHS ruling for this play. I think that in the NBA team control does end on the touch by B2 and therefore this is not a backcourt violation. That may well be the source of much misunderstanding at the NCAA and NFHS levels.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 08:30am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I believe that the NBA rule is different from the NCAA and NFHS ruling for this play. I think that in the NBA team control does end on the touch by B2 and therefore this is not a backcourt violation. That may well be the source of much misunderstanding at the NCAA and NFHS levels.
From the NBA's website.

Quote:
Rule 4, Section XVII-Team Control
A team is in control when a player is holding, dribbling or passing the ball. Team control ends when the defensive team deflects the ball or there is a field goal attempt.
So the play in question is not a backcourt violation in the NBA, but IS a violation under NFHS and college rules.

Last edited by Scrapper1; Tue Dec 05, 2006 at 10:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 08:57am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
And yet if Team A is the last to touch the ball in the front court even if B tips it then I got a BC violation. I gotta look for the reference but don't have my book handy. So I might be wrong.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 09:24am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
And yet if Team A is the last to touch the ball in the front court even if B tips it then I got a BC violation. I gotta look for the reference but don't have my book handy. So I might be wrong.
You're right. That's exactly what everybody else has said so far btw.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 09:26am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Thanks , I concluded from scrappers response that there would not be a BC call since no team control after B tipped the ball. If the balll had gone into the backcourt after B tipped it then A went to recover I would not call a violation. That was who my response was to.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 09:44am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Thanks , I concluded from scrappers response that there would not be a BC call since no team control after B tipped the ball. If the balll had gone into the backcourt after B tipped it then A went to recover I would not call a violation. That was who my response was to.
Scrapper was talking about it not being a back court violation under NBA rules only, which is correct afaik. Iow, if you were just responding to Scrapper, then you did have it wrong.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Dec 05, 2006 at 09:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 10:48am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Jurrassic is right about my previous post. It was meant to apply to NBA rules only. I've edited that post to make it clearer.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
From the NBA's website.


So the play in question is not a backcourt violation in the NBA, but IS a violation under NFHS and college rules.
You learn something everyday...now I know the source of the belief (by more than 1 HS player/coach) that a defensive tip absolves the offense of a subsequent backcourt violation.

Thanks, Scrapper.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 01:56pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Scrapper was talking about it not being a back court violation under NBA rules only, which is correct afaik. Iow, if you were just responding to Scrapper, then you did have it wrong.

So your saying even if B deflects the ball into the backcourt and then A goes to get it there should be a BC violation? That is where I am missing something.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 02:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
So your saying even if B deflects the ball into the backcourt and then A goes to get it there should be a BC violation? That is where I am missing something.
Here's the scenario we're seeing here. A1 has the ball in the front court and attempts a pass to A2. B1 deflects (tips) the pass towards the back court. Before it crosses over, A3 (standing in the front court) tips it in an attempt to grab it. A3 then chases the ball into the back court. This is a violation in HS and college, as team control never ended and A was the last to touch the ball in the front court as well as the first to touch it after the ball went into the back court.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another back court question dsturdy5 Basketball 13 Mon Jun 06, 2005 09:10am
Another back court question Jay R Basketball 11 Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:25pm
Maybe a new question for the Back Court Violation Quiz Ref in PA Basketball 9 Sun Nov 16, 2003 06:23pm
another back court question walter Basketball 44 Fri Jun 30, 2000 08:57am
Another back court question BSL Basketball 10 Mon Dec 06, 1999 03:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1