The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
In high school there is no team control during throw-in, but in NCAA there is.

Therefore in HS, if A1 throw-in lands in backcourt, 10 second count does not start until Team A member secures control, but in NCAA, as soon as ball lands in backcourt 10 second count should commence, correct?
I'm trying to figure out this same thing. I don't think that this is correct but it might be. The NCAA rule specifically says "An inbounds player (and his team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in his back court for 10 consecutive seconds." which to me means that a player inbounds must gain player control before the count starts.

SmokeEater says that this is correct so until I'm told otherwise this is how I'm calling it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Violation or not? Tom M. Basketball 36 Sat Dec 11, 2004 04:39pm
Violation? bseybs32 Basketball 3 Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:32am
violation or not umpire29 Basketball 15 Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:26am
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
Violation or not? bseybs32 Basketball 13 Fri Feb 06, 2004 10:39am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1