View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 10:03am
All_Heart All_Heart is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
10 Second Violation

Quote:
NFHS:
A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.
Quote:
NCAA:
An inbounds player (and his team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in his back court for 10 consecutive seconds.
Question 1:
By my understanding the violation takes place at 10.0 seconds not at 10.1, correct?

Question 2:
After a timeout there is 15.0 seconds on the game clock at the end of the game and Team A making a throw-in in the backcourt. Team A gained control immediately on the throw-in. Team A commits a ten second violation. Team B is given a throw-in near the divison line but the clock reads 3.5. What are you supposed to do by rule for NHFS & NCAA?

Question 3:
In NCAA does the 10 second count start when the ball touches a player inbounds in the backcourt or when the player gains player control? The way I'm reading it the inbounds player must gain player control before the 10 second count starts.
Reply With Quote