The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
Refresher Question Wrong

Number 15 on the IAABO exam seems to give the wrong correct answer (Manybe I am wrong, but I don't think so)

The question is as follows: Substitute B-6 enters the court while the ballis in control of team A and while the clock is running. The officials are inaware that team B has 6 players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which team A commits a violation/ The scorer now informs the official that team B had 6 players on the court. The Official rules no Technical foul can be assessed. Is the official correct. I said yes, the answer says no. It sights Rule 10, Section 1 Art 6: Have more than 5 team members participating simultaneously.
BUT, right under that it states Penalty: Penalized IF discovered while being violated.

So how could you have a T in the scenario above.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Is this a correctable error? "Failure to award a merited free throw"

Has the time to correct the error passed? "In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started."
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 01:38pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
PIAA Ref, you are correct that the official answer is wrong. My association received an email that was forwarded from the IAABO "home office", saying that #15 was in error and that the actual answer should be "Yes".

There were also a couple other answers that were changed from the answer key.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
I posted question 15 earlier...FYI

Six players in game
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
incorrect answer key on refresher

has anybody else dicovered any other answer(s) incorrect on the exam? I recently learned the key has 2 or 3 incorrect answers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 07:09pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,370
IAABO 2006 Refresher Exam Answer Mistakes

According to our board secretary/treasurer and our board interpreter, there are three mistakes on the IAABO 2006 Refresher Exam Answer And Reference Sheet. This information came out of a board Refresher Exam study session:

Question #15: Correct answer should be YES.

Question #49: Correct answer should be NO.

Question #80: Correct answer should be NO.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
Number 15 on the IAABO exam seems to give the wrong correct answer (Manybe I am wrong, but I don't think so)

The question is as follows: Substitute B-6 enters the court while the ballis in control of team A and while the clock is running. The officials are inaware that team B has 6 players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which team A commits a violation/ The scorer now informs the official that team B had 6 players on the court. The Official rules no Technical foul can be assessed. Is the official correct. I said yes, the answer says no. It sights Rule 10, Section 1 Art 6: Have more than 5 team members participating simultaneously.
BUT, right under that it states Penalty: Penalized IF discovered while being violated.

So how could you have a T in the scenario above.
BTW, we never gave you the Case Book ruling on this, so here it is:

SIX IN GAME
10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
refresher test question #9 scat03 Basketball 4 Thu Nov 09, 2006 02:56pm
IAABO refresher question #2 assignmentmaker Basketball 7 Mon Nov 21, 2005 02:38am
Refresher Question 13 Jeff the Ref Basketball 2 Tue Nov 12, 2002 11:30am
IAABO Refresher Test Question #58. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 38 Wed Oct 24, 2001 10:18am
Question #10, Refresher Exam Thomas Lacey Basketball 8 Tue Nov 16, 1999 10:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1