Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
[/indent]How does that ruling fit with case 4. 44.5.B? In it A1 gains control of the ball on the floor and it says... "It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball."
Since it is not possible to travel during a dribble, the act of putting the ball on the floor must not be a dribble.
|
That Case Book ruling is the decision by the NFHS that the player's action is an unfair attempt to circumvent 4-44-5b. Therefore, it has been ruled a violation.
In the dribble situation, there is no such difficulty. The normal dribbling rules are simply enforced. Do so prevents the player from gaining any unfair advantage.
Think of what the consequences would be if setting the ball down on the floor and releasing it wasn't considered a dribble. A player who had already used his dribble and was trapped, could put the ball down between his legs, shield it from other players with his body, and then move to a more advantageous location or position and pick the ball back up. That would make a farce of the traveling and dribbling restrictions.