The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
It is a poorly written question. The statement as written is true because the team member certainly may not reenter before then. However, there is one additional requirement that also has to be met -- time coming off the clock. This part is not included in the statement. So the test question is incomplete, but not incorrect, does that make it false? Who knows, who cares what the NFHS answer is? Just know the rule and apply it properly during the game.

This is one of the two that I missed according to the NFHS answer key.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 10:00pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Correct, time must come off the clock. The ball is live during a throw-in, etc. So time must come off the clock.... so the answer is falso.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
This is one of the two that I missed according to the NFHS answer key.[/QUOTE]

How did you answer this question on the test?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
As I wrote above who cares what the NFHS answer is? The point is to help people understand the rule, not match the federation answer key.

This is why discussion of the exam questions on this forum is such a controversial topic. I try to help people learn, not just provide answers.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Let's look at this statement in a different way.

Can anyone provide an example in which a player who has been withdrawn MAY re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Quote:
Can anyone provide an example in which a player who has been withdrawn MAY re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the ball becomes live following his/her replacement?
A6 is beckoned on the floor as a sub during a 1 and 1 free throw. A only has 6 players eligible. During the first free throw, which was successful, A6 (or A2-A5) needs to be substituted....i.e. sudden bloody nose, turned ankle on one of those asinine false rebounds when players don't pay attention to what the administering official says, dead ball foul that causes A6 to foul out et al.

Since A must field a full team if there are players eligible, I would allow A1 to come back into the game.

Every single one of those scenarios has happened during a game I worked at some point in my career. Thankfully none of them involvred the substitution issue because I'm sure the B coach would argue about it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Another example is A1 fouls B1. During dead ball, B6 subs for B1. You hand the ball to B3 for the throw -in. Horn sounds. It's the dreaded 7th team foul on Team A. You need to bring B1 back on the floor to shoot 1 + 1.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 09:22am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
Since A must field a full team if there are players eligible, I would allow A1 to come back into the game.
The problem is that A1 is not eligible at that point, for exactly the reason that we're discussing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Quote:
The problem is that A1 is not eligible at that point, for exactly the reason that we're discussing.
Semantics. I contend that A1 is an eligible player in that (s)he has not been disqualified from the game.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Another example is A1 fouls B1. During dead ball, B6 subs for B1. You hand the ball to B3 for the throw -in. Horn sounds. It's the dreaded 7th team foul on Team A. You need to bring B1 back on the floor to shoot 1 + 1.
Good answer, Frank! This play is from last year's Interps. I didn't even think of it.

2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 1: A1 is fouled by B1 late in the second quarter. It is a common foul and the seventh Team B foul. The bonus situation is not recognized by the scorer or the officiating crew, and the Team A coach substitutes A6 for A1. A6 is beckoned onto the floor and A1 goes to the team bench. The scorer recognizes the error and sounds the horn (a) just before or (b) just after the administering official hands the ball to A2 for a throw-in. RULING: This is a correctable-error situation and falls within the proper timeframe for a correction. In both (a) and (b), A6 leaves the game with A1 re-entering to shoot the bonus free throw. Play is resumed as after any free-throw attempt(s). If the second free throw is successful and the coach desires, A6 may re-enter the contest. (2-10-1a; 2-10-6)

Of course, it wouldn't apply to our debate over the NFHS test question because this is a correctable error situation and it says on the top of the exam, "No errors or mistakes are involved unless noted."


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
A6 is beckoned on the floor as a sub during a 1 and 1 free throw. A only has 6 players eligible. During the first free throw, which was successful, A6 (or A2-A5) needs to be substituted....i.e. sudden bloody nose, turned ankle on one of those asinine false rebounds when players don't pay attention to what the administering official says, dead ball foul that causes A6 to foul out et al.

Since A must field a full team if there are players eligible, I would allow A1 to come back into the game.

Every single one of those scenarios has happened during a game I worked at some point in my career. Thankfully none of them involvred the substitution issue because I'm sure the B coach would argue about it.
Unfortunately, you would be incorrect. As others have told you A1 is not eligible to become a player at this time. Team A must temporarily continue with four. Sorry that you don't personally like it, but that is the correct application of the NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS question #9 shipwreck Softball 6 Wed Aug 24, 2005 06:31pm
NFHS question oppool Softball 1 Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm
Question #99 NFHS RookieDude Basketball 22 Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:04pm
NFHS QUESTION #40 AND #70 roadking Basketball 8 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1